How to Get an Appraiser License in Alaska

License levels recognized in Alaska

Click HERE to view state requirements.

  1. Trainee Appraiser
  2. Certified Residential Appraiser
  3. Certified General Appraiser
Louisiana Appraiser License

Steps to becoming an appraiser in the state of Alaska

STEP 1: Find a supervisor/mentor to work with to log your experience hours. (Suggestions for finding a supervisor/mentor)

STEP 2: Successfully complete 75 hours of qualifying education courses approved by the Board.  In addition, successfully complete the AQB approved Supervisory/Trainee Course AND the Illinois-specific Supervisor-Trainee course. Successful completion requires passing the course final examinations for each course with a proctor. Proctoring requirement only applies to qualifying education and does not include the Supervisory course or law course. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

  1. Basic Appraisal Principles - 30 hours
  2. Basic Appraisal Procedures - 30 hours
  3. National USPAP Course or Equivalent - 15 hours

STEP 3: Submit the Application package which includes:

  1. Forms (Trainee Application)
  2. Fees (located on application)
  3. Education - completion certificates and/or official college transcripts
  4. Experience (form included with application)
  5. All applicants for a real estate appraiser license shall undergo a background screening as mandated by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) of the Appraisal Foundation and prescribed by the board.  Contact the Alaska Appraiser Board for information at 907.269.8160.

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Downloads:

Ready to get started? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

McKissock courses and online delivery method are approved by the Alaska Real Estate Appraisers Board and International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC).

McKissock is the exclusive provider of The Appraisal Foundation's national online USPAP course for the past 10 years.

Next steps after getting or upgrading your Alaska appraiser license

The appraiser license renewal cycle is two years.  All licenses must be renewed by 6/30 even numbered years.

Renewal Process

Education Requirement

  • Alaska Appraisers are required to take 28 continuing education hours every 24 months including the mandatory 7-hour USPAP Update course.  
  • If licensed at least 185 days, but less than 24 months satisfactory completion of at least 14 hours of continuing education is required; if less than 185 days there are no continuing education requirements for that renewal.
  • AK allows up to one-half (14) of the hours required to be obtained through distance education or online courses per cycle.
  • Education requirements and licenses must be renewed by 6/30 of even numbered years.

Renewal Applications

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development has introduced a new online feature to help you conveniently manage your professional license.

Using MY LICENSE will enable you to easily:

  • Renew - your professional license online.
  • Update - your email and mailing addresses.
  • Go Paperless - opt-in to receive electronic communication about licensure, regulations changes, and other important news.

If you are not registered with MY LICENSE, follow these steps:

  1. Visit the MY LICENSE customer home page at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/MYLICENSE.
  2. If you do not have an existing myAlaska account, please create one.  Once created and logged in, you'll be redirected to the MY LICENSE customer home page.  If you are unable to log in to your existing account, contact [email protected]
  3. Under Access an Existing License, enter the license number and Web Authorization Code.  You have successfully linked your professional license to your MY LICENSE account!
  4. To renew your license:
    • Select the license number you wish to renew from the Professional Licenses section.  This will bring you to your license details page.
    • Select the "Renew License" button to enter the online renewal application.

If you are already registered with MY LICENSE, follow these steps:

  1. Visit the MY LICENSE customer home page at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/MYLICENSE.
  2. Login to the myAlaska account associated with your professional license.  Once logged in, you'll be redirected to the MY LICENSE customer home page.  If you are unable to log in to your existing account, contact [email protected]
  3. To renew your license:
    • Select the license number you wish to renew from the Professional Licenses section.  This will bring you to your license details page.
    • Select the "Renew License" button to enter the online renewal application.

If you have multiple professional licenses eligible for renewal, a separate online submission is required for each license.

If you still have questions after following the instructions, call the Division of Corporate, Business, and Professional Licensing at (907) 465-2550.

Payment and Refund Policy

Online Payment

To proceed with payment, you will be redirected automatically to our secure payment site managed by our third-party administrator, Internet Secure. This site is not managed by the State of Alaska, and we cannot access it in order to assist with your payment. If you have trouble accessing the site, please check your computer’s security settings to allow transfer to our third-party payment administrator. In order to proceed with your online renewal, please discuss with your network administrator or temporarily lower them to enable transfer to the payment site.

If you do not wish to pay by credit card via Internet Secure, please file your renewal application using the paper version on our web site at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov. You may not renew your license online without completing payment.

For information on REFUNDS click HERE.

Renewal Applications

Need to take classes for renewal? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Steps to upgrade your appraiser license in the state of Alaska

STEP 1: Hold a valid appriasal license and successfully complete the additional required qualifying education courses (see course requirements below by license level).

Successful completion of qualifying education courses requires passing the course final examination for each course with a proctor. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

STEP 2: Complete and document all required experience hours for your upgrade level.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,500 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 12 months
  • Certified General Appraiser - Provide 3,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 18 months of which a minimum of 1,500 hours must be non-residential real property appraisal experience

STEP 3: Complete courses and maintain copies of transcripts for all college level requirements.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser - (See table at top of page or view requirements HERE)
  • Certified General Appraiser - You must have a Bachelor's degree or higher.

STEP 4: Submit the Application package which includes:

  • Experience Log (Included with application
  • All applicants for a real estate appraiser license shall undergo a background screening as mandated by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) of the Appraisal Foundation and prescribed by the board.  Contact the Alaska Appraiser Board for information at 907.269.8160.

STEP 5: Examination Process Must pass the national examination approved by AQB and the AK REAB. Louisiana national exam provider is Pearson-VUE.

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Dowloads:

 

*Continuing education requirements and process for license upgrade displayed in above renewal section.

Ready to upgrade your license? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Qualifying education requirements by license level

Trainee Appraiser (75 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
Certified Residential Appraiser (200 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling or Finance – 15 hours
  • Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours
Certified General Appraiser  (300 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 30 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours
  • General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Income Approach – 60 hours
  • General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 30 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives – 30 hours

*These pages were updated on November 10, 2020.  Please review the state board/commission page to determine if any changes have been made to the process since then.