How to Get an Appraiser License in the state of Massachusetts

License levels recognized in Massachusetts

Click HERE to view state requirements.

  1. Trainee Appraiser
  2. Licensed Residential Appraiser
  3. Certified Residential Appraiser
  4. Certified General Appraiser
Delaware Appraiser License

Steps to becoming an appraiser in the state of Massachusetts

STEP 1: Find a supervisor/mentor to work with to log your experience hours. (Suggestions for finding a supervisor/mentor) To gain your required experience hours you must train under an appraiser that meets all the following requirements:

  • Be certified as a general or residential appraiser for a minimum of 3 years..
  • Be in good standing for the 3 years immediately preceding their supervisor registration
  • Have no more than 3 trainees with less than 1 year experience
  • Have successfully completed a 4-hour Supervisory/Trainee course

STEP 2: Successfully complete 75 hours of qualifying education courses  approved by the Board.  In addition, successfully complete the AQB approved Supervisory/Trainee Course. Successful completion requires passing the course final examinations for each course with a proctor. Proctoring requirement only applies to qualifying education and does not include the Supervisory course. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

  1. Basic Appraisal Principles - 30 hours
  2. Basic Appraisal Procedures - 30-hours
  3. National USPAP Course or Equivalent - 15 hours
  4. Supervisor/Trainee Course - 4 hours

STEP 3: Submit the Application and fees to MA BRREA:

  1. Applicants must utilize the Massachusetts E-licensing & E-Permitting Portal to remit the following applications to the Board.
  2. We recommed that you open an on-line account using the Massachusetts E-Licensing & E-Permitting Portal.  This will permit you to apply for licenses, make on-line payments, renew your license and update your contact information through your on-line account.

STEP 4: Fingerprint and background check is required by AQB.  A CORI authorization form and professional photo are required for all applications.

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Downloads:

Ready to get started? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

McKissock courses and online delivery method are approved by the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Real Estate Appraisers and International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC).

McKissock is the exclusive provider of The Appraisal Foundation's national online USPAP course for the past 10 years.

Next steps after getting or upgrading your Massachusetts appraiser license

Appraisal licenses expire every two years on the anniversary of the licensure date.  Prior to the expiration date of your license, a renewal notice will be sent to the email address on the record.

 

Renewal Process

Education Requirements

  • Delaware Appraisers are required to take 28 continuing education hours every 24 months including a mandatory 7-hour USPAP course and a 2-hour Law course.
  • Effective November 9, 2012 a licensee who holds a two (2) year appraiser license shall complete twenty-eight (28) hours of Board approved continuing education.
  • All licensees shall completed a 7-hour USPAP Update course for each edition of USPAP.
  • *For Certified Residential licensees, not more than seven (7) hours of courses designated as elective may be credited toward renewal.
  • *For Certified General licensees, at least fourteen (14) hours in courses shall be designated as non-residential.
  • Limitations: An Appraiser Trainee shall be eligible to renew his/her trainee license for "not more than 4 two-year periods after the original date of issuance".

What you need

  • To renew your license online, you will need the license renewal form mailed to your address.
  • If you do not have a license renewal form, please contact the board at (617) 727-2373.

How to renew

Online

With your license renewal form, you may complete the following steps to renew online:

  • Visit the ePLACE Portal to login or create an account
  • Go to the Manage My Licenses and Permits tab and complete the following steps:
    • Select file an online application
    • Under the search box, select link your account portal
    • Select link your online account to an existing record
    • Select the Division of Professional Licensure (DPL)
    • When prompted, enter your Record ID/license number and the Authorization Code on your license renewal form
    • Link your account using Record ID/license number (Example: 1234-PL-M1) and the Authorization Code (Example: 1234567899) found on your license renewal form

Note: Your Record ID/license number and Authorization Code can be found on page 1 of the license renewal form provided to you.  If you experience any isues, please contact the board at (617) 727-3074.

  • You should now see your license listed and the option to renew on the Manage my Licenses and Permits page

More Info

The option to renew will only be present if your license is currently eligible for renewal.

Need to take classes for renewal? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Steps to upgrade your appraiser license in the state of Massachusetts

STEP 1: Hold a valid appriasal license and successfully complete the additional required qualifying education courses (see course requirements below by license level). Successful completion of qualifying education courses requires passing the course final examination for each course with a proctor. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

STEP 2: Complete and document all required experience hours for your upgrade level.

  • Licensed Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 6 months
  • Certified Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,500 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 12 months.
  • Certified General Appraiser - Provide 3,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 18 months of which a minimum of 1,500 hours must be non-residential real property appraisal experience

STEP 3: Complete courses and maintain copies of transcripts for all college level requirements.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser - (See table at top of page or view requirements HERE)
  • Certified General Appraiser - You must have a Bachelor’s degree or higher.

*Continuing education requirements and process for license upgrade displayed in above renewal section.

STEP 4: Submit the Application package which includes:

  1. Applicants must utilize the Massachusetts E-licensing & E-Permitting Portal to remit the following applications to the Board.
  2. We recommed that you open an on-line account using the Massachusetts E-Licensing & E-Permitting Portal.  This will permit you to apply for licenses, make on-line payments, renew your license and update your contact information through your on-line account.

Fingerprint and background check is required by AQB.  A CORI authorization form and professional photo are required for all applications.

STEP 5: Examination Process Must pass the national examination approved by AQB and MA BRREA. MA national exam provider is PSI.

 

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Dowloads:

Ready to upgrade your license? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Qualifying education requirements by license level

Trainee Appraiser (75 hours) - AQB recommended course order

 

  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours

 

 

 

Certified Residential Appraiser (200 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling or Finance – 15 hours
  • Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours
Licensed Residential Appraiser (150 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest And Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
Certified General Appraiser (300 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 30 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours
  • General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Income Approach – 60 hours
  • General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 30 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives – 30 hours

*These pages were updated on February 24, 2022.  Please review the state board/commission page to determine if any changes have been made to the process since then.