Illinois Appraisal License Requirements

Whether you're just getting started or a seasoned pro, McKissock will help you meet the necessary appraisal educational requirements in Illinois that you need to become licensed.

7 Mandatory Hours
21 Elective Hours
28 Total Hours

Learn Appraisal Educational Requirements for Illinois

This appraisal licensing information summarizes the minimum requirements established by the Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation. We recommend you contact the Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation for more detailed information or changes.

Illinois Appraisal: All

Total Hours Required: 28
Mandatory Hours: 7
Elective Hours: 21
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
License Expiration Date: 09/30/2021
Education Cycle in Months: 24
Next Education Due Date: 06/30/2021
Illinois Appraisers are required to take 28 continuing education hours every 24 months including National USPAP Update (or Equivalent). (The 7-hour National USPAP Update Course or its equivalent must be completed within 6 months after the effective date of USPAP).

Note: In addition to the 28hrs of continuing education; Sexual harassment prevention training is now required of all persons who hold a license issued by the Division of Real Estate for (“DRE”) professions that require CE to renew. The new law requires licensees to complete a one-hour CE course in sexual harassment prevention training and is effective for all renewals on or after January 1, 2020 where CE is required.
https://www.idfpr.com/FAQ/RealEstate/DRE%20-%20Sexual%20harassment%20training%20FAQs.pdf