Here's what you need to renew your Michigan Appraisal license
The information below is a summary of the minimum requirements set forth by the Michigan State Board of Real Estate Appraisers. For a more detailed requirements breakdown, please see the board's site.
If you hold Appraisal licenses in multiple states, please make sure to check each state's requirements.
Beginning with the 7/31/11 renewal cycle all appraisers will be required to have both the 7 hour Nat'l USPAP and 2 hour MI Appraiser Law every renewal cycle.
*For continuing education cycle periods of 185 days or more, 14 hours of continuing education is required.
*For continuing education cycle periods of less than 185 days, no hours of continuing education are required.
A student enrollment agreement is required upon completion of all courses. This enrollment agreement can be found in the documents section of each course. Please click on this link for the course catalog: CourseCatalog
Effective 3/29/2023 - Rosters are submitted for licensed students to CE Broker (Michigan's official CE tracking system) each business day. Unlicensed students - rosters will be emailed to the board.
Students no longer need their education posted to their account to renew. For their renewal they will be asked to check an attestation box, if they have completed their education. Please refer them to their renewal section with the state.
Anyone who completed education prior to 3/29/2023 may self report their own education to CE Broker if they would like it to show on their CE Broker account. If a student is audited or have to do a re-licensure, they will need to provide their certificates upon request of the board.
Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.