New Jersey Appraisal License Requirements

Whether you're just getting started or a seasoned pro, McKissock will help you meet the necessary appraisal educational requirements in New Jersey that you need to become licensed.

9 Mandatory Hours
19 Elective Hours
28 Total Hours

Learn Appraisal Educational Requirements for New Jersey

This appraisal licensing information summarizes the minimum requirements established by the New Jersey State Board of Real Estate Appraisers. We recommend you contact the New Jersey State Board of Real Estate Appraisers for more detailed information or changes.

New Jersey Appraisal: All

Total Hours Required: 28
Mandatory Hours: 9
Elective Hours: 19
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
License Expiration Date: 12/31/2023
Education Cycle in Months: 24
Next Education Due Date: 12/31/2023
New Jersey Appraisers are required to complete 28 continuing education hours every 24 months including the 7 hour National USPAP Update Course or Equivalent.

Effective 1/1/16: All licensed and certified real estate appraisers shall be required to complete a two-hour course on New Jersey law and rules governing the practice of real estate appraising. The course, at a minimum, shall include: the origin and history of the Real Estate Appraisers Act, the Board composition, scope of practice, mixed practice conflicts of interest, continuing education requirements and criteria, temporary visiting certificates, trainee and supervisor requirements, appraisal reporting and common deficiencies, and the complaint process.


NJ has no limit on the number of hours permitted online.

Governing Agency

Name: New Jersey State Board of Real Estate Appraisers
Phone: 9735046480
Fax: 9735046458
Address: 124 Halsey St, 3rd Floor Newark, NJ 07101

Good to know

Other facts and insights about getting your license

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.