FAQs: 2020 NAR Code of Ethics Training Changes

Find answers to your questions about McKissock.


What are the recently approved changes to the NAR Code of Ethics course training requirements?

The training cycle has been changed from a 2-year cycle to a 3-year cycle. The previous cycle (Cycle 6) was extended from Dec 31, 2020, to Dec 31, 2021. Cycle 7 (the current cycle) begins Jan 1, 2022, and ends Dec 31, 2024.

Effective Jan 1, 2022, McKissock and all other course providers must be formally partnered with local or state REALTOR® associations to offer NAR Code of Ethics training.

A formal partnership means a local or state association of REALTORS® has vetted a provider (i.e. real estate school, Code of Ethics educators, etc.), and confirmed that the provider’s course meets NAR’s mandatory minimum criteria and learning objective requirements.

An association must accept a course for the Code of Ethics training requirement if a member completes the course through a provider that is formally partnered with an association within the member’s own state or a neighboring state. If a course is taken from a partnered provider outside of those limits, it is up to each local association if they choose to accept it.

Can't find your answer?

If you can't find the answer to your question, please contact us. We are happy to help you.

Call Us icon

Call us: 800.328.2008

Speak to a customer service representative.

Weekdays: Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 8 p.m. (ET)

Weekends: Saturday - Sunday 12 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. (ET)

Get in touch icon

Send us a note

Email us and we'll get back to you within 24 hours

Email Us