Home » FAQs » What is required to achieve the CGHA certification?


What is required to achieve the CGHA certification?

1). Register as a candidate for the CGHA designation program by completing our online candidacy application. To be eligible for the program, you must be a Certified Residential Appraiser or Certified General Appraiser in good standing.

2). Complete the following three courses, which are approved for a total of 14 CE credit hours.

    • Green Building Concepts for Appraisers—7 hours.
    • Valuation of Green Residential Properties—4 hours.
    • Valuation of Residential Solar—3 hours. *

* The North Carolina Appraisal Board does not grant continuing education credit for courses less than 3.5 hours.  The 3 hour course can be completed as a non-credit course to meet the CGHA certification requirements.

3). Pass the comprehensive Demonstration of Knowledge Exam. 

The entire program including course completion and successful completion of the Demonstration of Knowledge Exam must be completed within one year of the date of starting the first green appraisal course.

Can’t find your answer?

If you can’t find the answer to your question, please contact us. We are happy to help you.

Phone icon

Give Us A Call


Monday – Friday 8 a.m. – 8 p.m. (ET)


Saturday – Sunday 12 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. (ET)



Real Estate


Envelope icon

Send us a Note

Email us and a customer service representative will get back to you within 24 hours.