Home » FAQs » What is the national exam minimum passing score?


What is the national exam minimum passing score?

The Appraiser Qualifications Board develops and maintains the National Uniform Licensing and Certification Examinations. Scores are reported to candidates as scaled scores. Scaled scores can range from 0 to 110, with 75 representing passing.

Examinations change over time. Each examination may vary in difficulty, with one examination easier or more difficult than other examinations. However, when converting raw scores to scaled scores, it should not make a difference whether candidates take an easier or more difficult examination. With the mathematical adjustment, the scaled score accounts for differences by adjusting the scores up or down depending on the difficulty of the examinations. When these adjustments are made, the effect is to produce an unbiased and
constant passing standard that does not change from one examination to another. A scaled score is not a percentage score, but simply a transformation of a raw score to report comparable results when examinations vary in difficulty.

Can’t find your answer?

If you can’t find the answer to your question, please contact us. We are happy to help you.

Phone icon

Give Us A Call


Monday – Friday 8 a.m. – 8 p.m. (ET)


Saturday – Sunday 12 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. (ET)



Real Estate


Envelope icon

Send us a Note

Email us and a customer service representative will get back to you within 24 hours.