Louisiana Professional Engineers License Requirements

Whether you're just getting started or a seasoned pro, McKissock will help you meet the necessary professional engineers educational requirements in Louisiana that you need to renew your license.

1 Mandatory Hours
29 Elective Hours
30 Total Hours
Shop Courses

Here's what you need to renew your Louisiana Professional Engineers license

The information below is a summary of the minimum requirements set forth by the Louisiana Professional Engineering & Land Surveying. For a more detailed requirements breakdown, please see the board's site.
If you hold Professional Engineers licenses in multiple states, please make sure to check each state's requirements.

Louisiana Professional Engineers: Blanket

Total Hours Required: 30
Mandatory Hours: 1
Elective Hours: 29
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
Education Cycle in Months: 24

Online Info

Louisiana Professional Engineers must complete 30 hours (15 hours per calendar year) of professional development each renewal cycle, with a minimum of 1 hour in Ethics. 

Engineers who design buildings and/or building systems must complete a minimum of 8 hours in Life Safety Code, Building Codes and/or Americans with Disability Act Accessibility Guidelines

New licensees are exempt from continuing education requirement for their first renewal

Online Limitations

A maximum of 8 PDHs can be earned in a calendar day


No roster required

Governing Agency

Name: Louisiana Professional Engineering & Land Surveying
Phone: 2259256291
Fax: 2259256292
Address: 9643 Brookline Ave Ste.121 Baton Rouge, 70809

Good to know

Other facts and insights about completing your CE

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.