Alaska Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements

Whether you're just getting started or a seasoned pro, McKissock has you covered with high-quality courses, industry expertise and convenience.

Select License Level:
8 Mandatory Hours
12 Elective Hours
20 Total Hours
0 Mandatory Hours
0 Elective Hours
30 Total Hours
0 Mandatory Hours
0 Elective Hours
30 Total Hours

Learn what's required for your Real Estate License in Alaska

This real estate licensing information summarizes the minimum requirements established by the Alaska Real Estate Commission. We recommend you contact the Alaska Real Estate Commission for more detailed information or changes.

If you obtain real estate licenses in multiple states, we recommend you check each state's requirements.

Alaska Real Estate License: All

Total Hours Required: 20
Mandatory Hours: 8
Elective Hours: 12
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
License Expiration Date: 01/31/2020
Education Cycle in Months: 24
Next Education Due Date: 01/31/2020
All Alaska Real Estate Licensees must complete 20 continuing education hours every 24 months (except those licensed less than 90 days prior to expiration). Licensees expire on January 31st of even years. Eight (8) hours of core curriculum is required.

Core topics for 2018-2020 licensing period are:
Ethical Situations – 2 hours
Understanding and Working with Title Reports, Encroachments, and Easements – 2 hours
Contract Law – 2 hours
Inspections and Disclosures – 2 hours

Online Limitations

Students may not receive credit for more than ten hours of instruction per day. 

Governing Agency

Name: Alaska Real Estate Commission
Phone: 9072698162
Fax: 9072698156
Address: Robert B. Atwood Building 550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500 Anchorage, AK 99501

Alaska Real Estate License: Salesperson Post License Requirements

Total Hours Required: 30
Mandatory Hours: 0
Elective Hours: 0
Renewal Cycle in Years: 1
Post Licensing Requirements: (Required for ALL new licensees) New licensees are required to complete 30 hours of post-licensing education within 12 months of receiving your initial license.

Required courses include, 9 hrs. Contracts & Agreements, 3 hrs. Property Management, 3 hrs. License Law, 6 hrs. Paperwork & Risk Management, 4 hrs. Evaluation& Pricing and 5 hrs. Financing & Closing.

Once students completes the required education they must submit an Affidavit of Post-Licensing Education and fee within 30 days after the 12 month period.

McKissock recognizes these requirements but currently does not offer the post-license education.

Governing Agency

Name: Alaska Real Estate Commission
Phone: 9072698162
Fax: 9072698156
Address: Robert B. Atwood Building 550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500 Anchorage, AK 99501

Alaska Real Estate License: Broker Post License Requirements

Total Hours Required: 30
Mandatory Hours: 0
Elective Hours: 0
Renewal Cycle in Years: 1
Post Licensing Requirements: must complete the 30 hours of post-licensing education within 12 months of receiving initial license.

Required courses include,7 hrs. Recovery Fund, Trust Account & General Accounts, 8 hrs. Practical Office Management, 8 hrs. Practical Supervision and 7 hrs. Risk Management.

Once students completes the required education they must submit an Affidavit of Post-Licensing Education and fee within 30 days after the 12 month period.

McKissock recognizes these requirements but currently does not offer the post-license education.

Governing Agency

Name: Alaska Real Estate Commission
Phone: 9072698162
Fax: 9072698156
Address: Robert B. Atwood Building 550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500 Anchorage, AK 99501

Good to know

Other facts and insights about getting your license

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.