How to get your Real Estate License in Michigan

Do you want to become a real estate agent and get Michigan Real Estate License? McKissock Learning taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in Michigan, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the Michigan real estate license requirements.

6 Mandatory Hours
12 Elective Hours
18 Total Hours

Learn what's required for your Real Estate License in Michigan

This real estate licensing information summarizes the minimum requirements established by the Michigan State Board of Real Estate Brokers & Salespersons. We recommend you contact the Michigan State Board of Real Estate Brokers & Salespersons for more detailed information or changes.

If you obtain real estate licenses in multiple states, we recommend you check each state's requirements.

Michigan Real Estate License: All

Total Hours Required: 18
Mandatory Hours: 6
Elective Hours: 12
Renewal Cycle in Years: 3
License Expiration Date: 10/31/2021
Education Cycle in Months: 36
Next Education Due Date: 10/31/2021
Michigan Real Estate Licensees are required to take 18 hours of continuing education every 3 years.
 
Starting November 1, 2018, CE hours will be counted for each license cycle year. A license cycle year is defined as the period of November 1 through October 31. While licensees will be required to complete 2 hours of eligible legal continuing education within each license cycle.

If you:
• Renewed your license in 2018 – or –
• Were issued a new license between 7/1/2018 – 10/31/2019 – or –
• Were relicensed between 7/1/2018 – 10/31/2019
Then you need:
• 6 hours (2 hours each year) of CE that involves law, rules & court cases regarding real estate.
• 12 hours of other CE
• For a total of 18 hours of CE prior to renewing your license in 2021.

If you:
• Were issued a new license between 11/1/2019 – 10/31/2020 – or –
• Were relicensed between 11/1/2019 – 10/31/2020
Then you need:
• 4 hours (2 hours each year) of CE that involves law, rules & court cases regarding real estate.
• 8 hours of other CE
• For a total of 12 hours of CE prior to renewing your license in 2021.

If you:
• Were issued a new license between 11/1/2020 – 7/3/2021 – or –
• Were relicensed between 11/1/2020 – 7/3/2021
Then you need:
• 2 hours of CE that involves law, rules & court cases regarding real estate.
• 4 hours of other CE
• For a total of 6 hours of CE prior to renewing your license in 2021.


A student enrollment agreement is required upon completion of all courses (except non-credit courses).  This enrollment agreement can be found in the documents section of each course. No final exam requirements, course review only!   Please click on this link for the course catalog: Course Catalog

No Final Exam Passing Requirement

Limitations

There is no limit to the number of CE hours that may be taken online. 

Licensees can NOT receive credit for a class twice in the same renewal cycle (3 year period), however they can in consecutive cycles.

Roster

Roster Required: yes
Roster Process: Courses are approved through CEMarketplace.  Rosters will be submitted every Monday and Thursday.
Roster Sent: Every 10 days

Governing Agency

Name: Michigan State Board of Real Estate Brokers & Salespersons
Phone: 5172419288
Fax: 5173731044
Address: Bureau of Commercial Services Licensing Division Lansing, MI 48913

Good to know

Other facts and insights about getting your license

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.