• at least 3 hours in fair housing
• and at least one (1) hour in law of agency*
*Please note that Salespersons renewing a license for the 1st time will need an additional hour in law of agency for a total of two (2) hours.
The New York Real Estate Commission requires an affidavit be submitted to McKissock upon completion of each course (except non-credit courses) and also requires each licensee to spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content.
There is no final exam passing requirement.
CE exemptions prior to July 1, 2021
Either of the below are exempt from the continuing education requirements:
• Any licensed real estate broker who is engaged full time in the real estate business and who has been licensed prior to July 1, 2008 for at least 15 consecutive years and has maintained continuous licensure (no breaks in licensure for reasons such as late renewal submission) or
• An attorney admitted to the New York State Bar who holds a real estate broker's license.
What are the Newly Adopted Continuing Education Requirements effective July 1, 2021?
All licensees will be required to successfully complete 22.5 hours of approved continuing education. The education must include at least 2.5 hours on the subject of ethical business practices, at least 1 hour of recent legal matters, at least 3 hours of instruction pertaining to fair housing and/or discrimination in the sale or rental of real property or an interest in real property, and at least 1 hour of instruction pertaining to the law of agency except in the case of the initial two-year licensing term for real estate salespersons, 2 hours of agency related instruction must be completed within the two-year period immediately preceding a renewal.
The newly adopted amendment also REMOVES the 15-year real estate broker continuing education exemption. Attorneys admitted to the New York State bar who hold a broker’s license remain exempt from the continuing education requirement.
Note: Students who renew prior to 7/1/21 who complete the new required course will receive elective credit; while students who renew after 7/1/21 will receive their mandatory credit.