How to get your Real Estate License in North Carolina

Do you want to become a real estate agent and get North Carolina Real Estate License? McKissock Learning taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in North Carolina, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the North Carolina real estate license requirements.

4 Mandatory Hours
4 Elective Hours
8 Total Hours

Learn what's required for your Real Estate License in North Carolina

This real estate licensing information summarizes the minimum requirements established by the North Carolina Real Estate Commission. We recommend you contact the North Carolina Real Estate Commission for more detailed information or changes.

If you obtain real estate licenses in multiple states, we recommend you check each state's requirements.

North Carolina Real Estate License: All

Total Hours Required: 8
Mandatory Hours: 4
Elective Hours: 4
Renewal Cycle in Years: 1
License Expiration Date: 06/30/2020
Education Cycle in Months: 12
Next Education Due Date: 06/10/2020
North Carolina Real Estate Professionals are required to take 8 continuing education hours every 12 months. Four of the required credit hours must be obtained by completing the Real Estate Update course prescribed by the Commission, which changes from year to year. The remaining 4 hours may be obtained by taking an elective course(s) approved by the Commission.
Click here to view your education:

All courses MUST be completed by June 10th to ensure a timely renewal. It is very important to note that continuing education providers are not permitted to offer courses for CE credit between June 11 and June 30 of each year to allow time for sponsors to file reports to the Commission and for the Commission to process such reports. Thus, you will not be able to complete your CE requirement between June 11 and June 30 of each year.
All BICs (Broker in Charge) or BIC eligible licensees are required by State Law to attend a 4 Hour BIC Annual Review Course which must be completed in a classroom in addition to the 4 hour elective credit.

The BIC course is reserved exclusively for current BICs or those brokers seeking to maintain BIC eligibility. Any broker not falling into either of these categories will not be granted CE credit.

NOTE: A recent law change requires that all Broker licenses be renewed on the North Carolina Real Estate Commission website.

No Final Exam Passing Requirement

Online Limitations

Only 4 elective hours may be taken online. The 4 hours of mandatory coursework must be taken in the classroom.

All CE courses must be completed 30 days from registration or by June 10th.

The North Carolina Real Estate Commission requires a timing device for all distance education courses to ensure that courses cannot be completed in less than the approved credit hours. Please note that your course will time out after several minutes of inactivity.


Roster Required: yes
Roster Process: Rosters are submitted electronically every Tuesday and Friday. During high volume periods, such as near renewal deadlines, rosters will be submitted daily.

Note from the North Carolina Real Estate Commission website - Licensees can check/review CE credits by going to the "Licensee Loginof the North Carolina Real Estate Commission Website. (Please allow 15 days after completion of a course for it to be posted to your record.)
Roster Sent: Every 7 days

Governing Agency

Name: North Carolina Real Estate Commission
Phone: 9198753700
Fax: 9198774216
Address: 1313 Navaho Dr. P.O. Box 17100 Raleigh, NC 27619

Good to know

Other facts and insights about getting your license

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.