How to Get an Appraiser License in California

License levels recognized in California

Click HERE to view state requirements.

  1. AT - Trainee License
  2. AL - Residential License
  3. AR - Certified Residential License
  4. AG - Certified General License
California Appraiser License

Steps to becoming an appraiser in the state of California

STEP 1: Find a supervisor/mentor to work with to log your experience hours. (Suggestions for finding a supervisor/mentor)

STEP 2: Successfully complete 150 hours of qualifying education courses  approved by the Board.  In addition, successfully complete the AQB approved Supervisory/Trainee Course and the California Law Course.  Successful completion requires passing the course final examinations for each course with a proctor. Proctoring requirement only applies to qualifying education and does not include the Supervisory course or law course. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

  1. Basic Appraisal Principles - 30 hours
  2. Basic Appraisal Procedures - 30 hours
  3. National USPAP Course or Equivalent - 15 hours
  4. Laws and Regulations for California Appraisers - 4 hours
  5. Supervisor/Trainee Course - 4 hours
  6. Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use - 15 hours
  7. Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach - 15 hours
  8. Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches - 30 hours
  9. Residential Report Writing and Case Studies - 15 hours

STEP 3: Submit the Application package which includes:

  1. Forms (Application) (Basic Education Attachment) (Request for Live Scan Service)
  2. Fees (Licensing Fee Chart)
  3. Education - completion certificates and/or official college transcripts
  4. Experience (Log of Appraisal Experience)
  5. Background information for criminal record check (Fingerprint Locations)

STEP 4: Examination Process (Upgrade and initial AL, AR, and AG ONLY) CA exam provider is AMP (Applied Measurement Professionals.  (AMP - CA National Exam Provider Website) (CA National Exam Candidate Handbook)

  1. Admission to Examination Letter sent after the initial evaluation of the application.
  2. Scheduling of the examination by applicant contacting the examination provider.
  3. Payment of examination fee by applican (paid directly to the exam provider)

STEP 5: Submission of license issuance request including all of the following:

  1. Application for Issuance of a license (Application)
  2. Examination results showing successful completion
  3. True and correct, unaltered and unredacted copies of the work samples that the Bureau requests for examination.

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Downloads:

Ready to get started? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

McKissock courses and online delivery method are approved by the California Board of Real Estate Appraisers and International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC).

McKissock is the exclusive provider of The Appraisal Foundation's national online USPAP course for the past 10 years.

California Appraiser License

Next steps after getting or upgrading your California appraiser license

The expiration date of an appraiser license is normally two years from the date of issuance.

Renewal Process

This section applies to licensees who are applying for renewal of their license.

The term of a California real estate appraiser license is two years. All licensed appraisers must meet minimum continuing education requirements before renewing their license. A total of 56 hours of continuing education is required during the four-year continuing education cycle including the following mandatory courses for all licenses:

  • 7-hour National USPAP Update Course - required every two years
  • 4-hour course entitled Federal and State Laws and Regulations – required once every four years

"USPAP Only" Renewal Application

To apply for renewal of a license after the first two years of the continuing education cycle, applicants must complete and submit all of the following (see list of forms on the Bureau's website):

  • Renewal Application (REA 3012)
  • Proof of completion of the 7-hour National USPAP Update Course or its equivalent as determined by the AQB
  • All appropriate fees (fees listed on application - see above link)

Full Continuing Education Renewal Application

To apply for renewal of a license at the end of the continuing education cycle (on time every four years), applicants must complete and submit all of the following (see list of forms on the Bureau's website):

  • Renewal Application (REA 3012)
  • Continuing Education Attachment (REA 3017), documenting the required continuing education to renew, along with copies of official transcripts and/or course completion certificates, including:
    • The 7-hour National USPAP Update Course or its equivalent as determined by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB)
    • The 4-hour course entitled Federal and State Laws and Regulation
    • A minimum of 38 hours additional approved continuing education
  • All appropriate fees (fees listed on application - see above link)
  • Consent to Service of Process (REA 3006), if the appraiser's physical residence address is outside of California

Once the application is approved, a new certificate will be issued.

On-Line Renewals

Licensees can submit most renewals online. The existing license must be current and in good standing. Licenses cannot be renewed if the expiration date is more than six months away. Online renewal is not available for licensees who live out of state or those whose license has been suspended, resigned, revoked, or have had their right to renew revoked. Those who are subject to Enforcement monitoring are also ineligible to use the online renewal. Go to the Online Renewal Application to renew online.

Late Renewals

  • Licensees may renew a license within two years of the license’s expiration date. However, licenses renewed during the two-year grace period are considered late and are subject to additional fees and education requirements. Late renewal licensees must pay late renewal fees and submit proof of completion of seven additional hours of continuing education for each six-month period the application is received after the expiration of the continuing education cycle. Additional education required if late: 1 day to less than 6 months = 7 hours; 6 months to less than 12 months = 14 hours; 12 months to less than 18 months = 21 hours; 18 months to less than 24 months = 28 hours.
  • A $125.00 late fee.

Applications are considered late if postmarked after the expiration date of the license or if any of the required continuing education is completed after the expiration date of the license.

NOTE: Appraisers whose licenses have expired cannot legally perform appraisals in federally related transactions until the license is renewed.

Need to take classes for renewal? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Steps to upgrade your appraiser license in the state of California

STEP 1: Hold a valid appriasal license and successfully complete the additional required qualifying education courses (see course requirements below by license level). Successful completion of qualifying education courses requires passing the course final examination for each course with a proctor. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

STEP 2: Complete and document all required experience hours for your upgrade level. (VIEW State requirements by license level)

STEP 3: Complete courses and maintain copies of transcripts for all college level requirements. (VIEW State requirements by license level)

STEP 4: Submit the Application package which includes:

  1. Forms (Application) (Basic Education Attachment) (Request for Live Scan Service)
  2. Fees (Licensing Fee Chart)
  3. Education – completion certificates and/or official college transcripts
  4. Experience (Log of Appraisal Experience)
  5. Background information for criminal records check. (Fingerprint Locations)

STEP 5: Examination Process (Upgrade and initial AL, AR, and AG ONLY) California national exam provider is AMP (Applied Measurement Professionals.  (AMP - CA National Exam Provider Website) (CA National Exam Candidate Handbook)

  1. Admission to Examination Letter sent after the initial evaluation of the application.
  2. Scheduling of the examination by applicant contacting the examination provider.
  3. Payment of examination fee by applican (paid directly to the exam provider)

STEP 6: Submission of license issuance request including all of the following:

  1. Application for Issuance of a license (Application)
  2. Examination results showing successful completion
  3. True and correct, unaltered and unredacted copies of the work samples that the Bureau requests for examination.

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Dowloads:

*Continuing education requirements and process for license upgrade displayed in above renewal section.

Ready to upgrade your license? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Qualifying education requirements by license level

AT – Trainee License (150 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Laws and Regulations for California Appraisers – 4 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest And Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
AR - Certified Residential License (200 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Laws and Regulations for California Appraisers – 4 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling or Finance – 15 hours
  • Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours
AL - Residential License (150 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Laws and Regulations for California Appraisers – 4 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest And Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
AG - Certified General License (300 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Laws and Regulations for California Appraisers – 4 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 30 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours
  • General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Income Approach – 60 hours
  • General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 30 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives – 30 hours

*These pages were updated on November 10 2020.  Please review the state board/commission page to determine if any changes have been made to the process since then.