How to Get an Appraiser License in the state of Delaware

License levels recognized in Delaware

Click HERE to view state requirements.

  1. Trainee Appraiser
  2. Licensed Residential Appraiser
  3. Certified Residential Appraiser
  4. Certified General Appraiser
Delaware Appraiser License

Steps to becoming an appraiser in the state of Delaware

STEP 1: Find a supervisor/mentor to work with to log your experience hours. (Suggestions for finding a supervisor/mentor) To gain your required experience hours you must train under an appraiser that meets all the following requirements:

  • Be certified as a general or residential appraiser for a minimum of 3 years..
  • Be in good standing for the 3 years immediately preceding their supervisor registration
  • Have no more than 3 trainees with less than 1 year experience
  • Have successfully completed a 4-hour Supervisory/Trainee course

STEP 2: Successfully complete 75 hours of qualifying education courses  approved by the Board.  In addition, successfully complete the AQB approved Supervisory/Trainee Course. Successful completion requires passing the course final examinations for each course with a proctor. Proctoring requirement only applies to qualifying education and does not include the Supervisory course. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

  1. Basic Appraisal Principles - 30 hours
  2. Basic Appraisal Procedures - 30-hours
  3. National USPAP Course or Equivalent - 15 hours
  4. Supervisor/Trainee Course - 4 hours

STEP 3: Submit the Application and fee to DE CREA which includes:

  1. Forms (Application Instructions) (Online Registration) (Trainee Checklist)
  2. Fees (Fee list)
  3. Education - completion certificates and/or official college transcripts
  4. Experience (Verification of Appraiser Supervision Form) (Experience Log)

STEP 4: Fingerprint and background check is required by AQB. (Criminal History Record Check Form) (Justice Applicant's Privacy Rights)

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Downloads:

Ready to get started? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

McKissock courses and online delivery method are approved by the Delaware Council on Real Estate Appraisers and International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC).

McKissock is the exclusive provider of The Appraisal Foundation's national online USPAP course for the past 10 years.

Delaware Appraiser License

Next steps after getting or upgrading your Delaware appraiser license

Appraisal licenses expire every two years on 10/31, odd numbered years. A few months before the expiration date of your license, a renewal notice will be sent to the email address on the record.

Renewal Process

Education Requirements

  • Delaware Appraisers are required to take 28 continuing education hours every 24 months including a mandatory 7-hour USPAP course and a 2-hour Law course.
  • Effective November 1, 2019 Delaware Appraisal Laws decreased from 3 to 2hours. *For those that completed the course as 3hours, they will receive 1 elective hour in either online/live.
  • Applicants licensed on or after 11/1 of odd years but before 11/1 of even years must complete 28 hours including the 7-hour USPAP Update and 2-hour Law course.
  • Applicants licensed on or after 11/1 of even years but before 5/1 of odd years must complete fourteen (14) hours of continuing education for that license cycle.
  • Applicants licensed on or after 5/1 of odd years but before 7/1 of odd years have no continuing education requirement until the following renewal cycle.
  • A few months before the expiration date of your license, a renewal notice will be sent to the email address on the record. This notice will explain how to access your online renewal application in DELPROS, our online licensure system. To complete the online renewal application, you must log-in to your account, answer questions, and use a credit/debit card to pay your renewal fee.

Renewing an Active License/Certificate

  • An active license/certificate must be renewed in DELPROS every two years before the expiration date. During renewal, you are asked to attest that you have completed the required continuing education (CE).
  • For information about CE requirements and audits, click on the Continuing Education and Audit Information webpage or see the following sections of the Council's Rules and Regulations:

Appraisers – Sections 2.3 – 2.5
Certified Assessors – Sections 10.7 – 10.8

  • After the renewal, a percentage of licensees and certificate holders are randomly selected for audit of their CE.

Renewing an Expired License/Certificate/Registration

  • If you do not complete renewal before the expiration date, your license/certificate/registration will expire. It is illegal to practice as an appraiser or assessor while your license/certificate is expiredIt is also illegal to operate an Appraisal Management Company in Delaware while its registration is expired.
  • You may file a late renewal application up to 60 days after its expiration date. You must pay a late fee in addition to the renewal fee. Even though you can file a late renewal application, it is illegal to perform appraisals until the active license/certificate is actually renewed. The late period is not a “grace period.”
  • If you fail to renew by the end of the 60-day period, your license/certificate/registration will terminate. To resume practicing or operating an Appraisal Management Company in Delaware after termination, you must reapply in DELPROS as a new applicant. See the Council’s Rules and Regulations for additional information.

Inactive and Reactivating Licenses

  • If you hold an active license or certificate but you are not practicing in Delaware, you may request to place your license in inactive status through a Service Request in DELPROS. You must request inactive status before the expiration date of your license. If your expiration date has passed, you must first renew your license, then request inactive status.
  • To maintain your inactive status indefinitely, you must renew it in DELPROS. This includes completing the required CE during each two-year renewal period. Renewal will keep your license in inactive status for two more years. You cannot practice in Delaware while your license is in inactive status.
  • To resume performing appraisals in Delaware, you must reactivate your inactive license/certificate through a Service Request in DELPROS. For more information about reactivating, see Section 2.2.4.2 of the Rules and Regulations.
  • Inactive status is not available to Certified Assessors or Appraisal Management Companies.

Entering Continuing Education in the CE Tracker

Go to the DELPROS online portal, and then click on Apply/Manage a License and Service Requests. If you:

  • are already an existing user, log in with your email address and password under the existing user section.
  • have not yet created a DELPROS user account, click on REGISTER.

After creating your user account or logging into the DELPROS online portal, you may begin entering your CE.

  • Click on the CONTINUING EDUCATION link in the dark blue banner at the top of the page
  • Click on ADD COURSE button
  • After choosing your profession, complete the other fields and click on SAVE
  • You will get a message of Success if the information you entered was created successfully
  • Click on CONTINUE to add more courses, upload documents, or delete entries if you made an error

When you are done, click on your Dashboard on the dark blue banner at the top of the page to renew your license or choose another service.

Need to take classes for renewal? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Steps to upgrade your appraiser license in the state of Delaware

STEP 1: Hold a valid appriasal license and successfully complete the additional required qualifying education courses (see course requirements below by license level). Successful completion of qualifying education courses requires passing the course final examination for each course with a proctor. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

STEP 2: Complete and document all required experience hours for your upgrade level.

  • Licensed Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 16months
  • Certified Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,500 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 12 months.
  • Certified General Appraiser - Provide 3,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 18 months of which a minimum of 1,500 hours must be non-residential real property appraisal experience

STEP 3: Complete courses and maintain copies of transcripts for all college level requirements.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser - (See table at top of page or view requirements HERE)
  • Certified General Appraiser - You must have a Bachelor’s degree or higher.

*Continuing education requirements and process for license upgrade displayed in above renewal section.

STEP 4: Submit the Application package which includes:

  1. Forms (Information and Steps) (Online Registration)
  2. Fees (Fee chart)
  3. Education – completion certificates and/or official college transcripts 
  4. Experience (Experience Log)
  5. Background information for criminal records check. (Criminal History Check Form) (Justice Applican't Privacy Policy)

STEP 5: Examination Process Must pass the national examination approved by AQB and DE CREA. DE national exam provider is PearsonVUE.

 

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Dowloads:

Ready to upgrade your license? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Qualifying education requirements by license level

Trainee Appraiser (75 hours) - AQB recommended course order

 

  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours

 

 

 

Certified Residential Appraiser (200 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling or Finance – 15 hours
  • Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours
Licensed Residential Appraiser (150 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest And Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
Certified General Appraiser (300 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 30 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours
  • General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Income Approach – 60 hours
  • General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 30 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives – 30 hours

*These pages were updated on December 1, 2020.  Please review the state board/commission page to determine if any changes have been made to the process since then.