How to Get an Appraiser License in Florida

License levels recognized in Florida

Click HERE to view state requirements.

  1. Registered Trainee Appraiser
  2. Certified Residential Appraiser
  3. Certified General Appraiser

Steps to becoming an appraiser in the state of Florida

Qualifications
  • Applicant must be at least 18 years of age.
  • Applicant must hold a valid high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Applicant must have a United States Social Security number

STEP 1: Find a supervisor/mentor to work with to log your experience hours. (Suggestions for finding a supervisor/mentor)

STEP 2: Successfully complete 100 hours of qualifying education courses  approved by the Board.  In addition, successfully complete the AQB approved Supervisory/Trainee Course. Successful completion requires passing the course final examinations for each course with a proctor. Proctoring requirement only applies to qualifying education and does not include the Supervisory course or law course. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

  1. Basic Appraisal Principles - 30 hours
  2. Basic Appraisal Procedures - 30 hours
  3. National USPAP Course or Equivalent - 15 hours
  4. FL Trainee Appraiser Subject Matter Electives - 25 hours
  5. Supervisor/Trainee Course - 4 hours

STEP 3: Submit the Application package which includes:

  1. Forms (Printable Application) (Online Application)
  2. Fees (located on application)
  3. Education - completion certificates and/or official college transcripts
  4. Experience (Supervisory Designation/Termination Form) (Download Experience Log)
  5. Background information for criminal record check (Fingerprint FAQs) (Notice for Applicants Submitting Fingerprints)

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Downloads:

Ready to get started? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

McKissock courses and online delivery method are approved by the Florida Department of Business and Provessional Regulation (DBPR) and International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC).

McKissock is the exclusive provider of The Appraisal Foundation's national online USPAP course for the past 10 years.

Florida Appraiser License

Next steps after getting or upgrading your Florida appraiser license

The appraiser license renewal cycle is two years.  All licenses must be renewed by 11/30 of even years.

Renewal Process

This section applies to licensees who are applying for renewal of their license.

Florida Appraisers are required to take 30 continuing education hours every 24 months including 10 hours in mandatory topics. Mandatory topics include the 7-hour National USPAP update course or its equivalent and a minimum of 3 course hours of a review and update of the Florida Real Estate Appraisal Law and Board Rules.

*Those who have had their registration, license, or certification for less than six months from 11/30 are not be required to take appraiser continuing education for renewal, but must pay the renewal fee.

Note: Effective October 1, 2017 Rule 61J1-4.009, F.A.C., Post-Licensing Education for Registered Trainee Appraisers, has been repealed.

Registered Trainee Appraisers will only need to complete 30 hours of continuing education consisting of 3 hours of Florida Laws and Rules, 7 hour National USPAP update and 20 hours of specialty education every renewal cycle. Registered trainee appraisers will not be required to complete any post-licensing education.

  • 7-hour National USPAP Update Course - required every two years
  • 4-hour course entitled Federal and State Laws and Regulations – required once every four years

Continuing Education

Completion of continuing education is required for current active and inactive statuses.
Information concerning educational requirements may be found by logging into your online
account.

License renewal information

  • To renew your license Active or Inactive, submit your renewal request online and pay the renewal fee of $255 for RH, RZ, RD or $175 for RI. If submitted after November 30, 2020,the fee will be $280 for RH, RZ, RD or $200 for RI.
  • Suspended or probationary status: If your license is in either status, mail your renewal tothe Department of Business and Professional Regulation, 2601 Blair Stone Rd, Tallahassee,FL 32301 (see below).

If you wish to mail your renewal notice, please complete the blank renewal form found on the professtional website along with your renewal fee payment to:

Department of Business and Professional Regulation
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, Florida 32399

If mailing, please allow additional time for processing of your renewal request.

A Copy of your license will b sent to the email address associated with your online account once you renew your license. This process significantly reduces the amount of time it would have otherwise taken for you to receive your license in the mail. The Department will no longer print and mail initial, renewed or duplicate licenses.

If you wish to print your license at any time in the future you may do so using your secure online account with the Department. Please log into www.MyFloridaLicense.com to access your account and follow the step-by-step instructions on how to print your license.

Additionally, after you have created an online account and linked your license, you may view a copy of your professional license on your mobile device using the DBPR mobile application.

You may download the DBPR mobine application from the Apple App Store or Google Play. Once you have installed the application, select "My License" and enter the same login and password information that you used to create your online account to view a copy of your professional license.

Important Information

  • You may register your business address by logging onto the website www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Renew & Manage My License.
  • State Law requires you to maintain a current mailing address (address of record) with the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. All official correspondence from the Department will be sent to this address of record including license renewal notices, important board information, service of process, etc.
  • It is also recommended that you keep your telephone and e-mail address current with the Department. The Department will use the e-mail address for official communication with license holders. Update your personal information through one of the option referenced in this renewal package.
  • Effective October 1, 2009, Section 455.227(1)(t), Florida Statutes requires all professional licensees to self-report to the department, within 30 days of being convicted, or found guilty of, or having plead nolo contendere (no contest) or guilty to a crime in any jurisdiction. A licensee who fails to report this information may be subject to disciplinary action, including fines, suspension, or license revocation. To report, complete the criminal self-reporting document and mail it to the deparment at the address proficed on the form.
  • If you have a compliance order with a past due payment your license will not be renewed until it has been made current.

Visit www.MyFloridaLicense.com to create an account or access an existing account.  There you will find license and renewal information, fees and their breakouts, license relationships as well as the opportunity to update personal data, apply online for additional licenses, and renew your license. For commonly asked questions please use the "Ask Us" link at the top of the page if you need additional assistnce select the "Contact Us" link or call the Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395.

Need to take classes for renewal? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Steps to upgrade your appraiser license in the state of Florida

Qualifications
  • Applicant must be at least 18 years of age.
  • Applicant must hold a valid high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Applicant must have a United States Social Security number

STEP 1: Hold a valid appriasal license and successfully complete the additional required qualifying education courses (see course requirements below by license level). Successful completion of qualifying education courses requires passing the course final examination for each course with a proctor. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

STEP 2: Complete and document all required experience hours for your upgrade level.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,500 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 12 months
  • Certified General Appraiser - Provide 3,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 18 months of which a minimum of 1,500 hours must be non-residential real property appraisal experience

STEP 3: Complete courses and maintain copies of transcripts for all college level requirements.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser - (See table at top of page or view requirements HERE)
  • Certified General Appraiser - You must have a Bachelor's degree or higher.

STEP 4: Submit the Application package which includes:

  1. Forms (Application)
  2. Fees (located in application)
  3. Education – completion certificates and/or official college transcripts
  4. Experience (Download Experience Log)
  5. Background information for criminal records check. (Fingerprint FAQs) (Notice for Applicants Submitting Fingerprints)

STEP 5: Examination Process Must pass the national examination approved by AQB and the FL DBPR. Florida national exam provider is PearsonVUE.

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Dowloads:

 

*Continuing education requirements and process for license upgrade displayed in above renewal section.

Ready to upgrade your license? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Qualifying education requirements by license level

Registered Trainee Appraiser (100 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • FL Appraisal Subject Matter Electives - 25 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
Certified Residential Appraiser (200 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • FL Appraisal Subject Matter Electives - 25 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling or Finance – 15 hours
  • Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours
Certified General Appraiser  (300 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • FL Appraisal Subject Matter Electives - 25 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 30 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours
  • General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Income Approach – 60 hours
  • General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 30 hours
  • Commercial Appraisal Review - Subject Matter Electives – 15 hours

*These pages were updated on November 10, 2020.  Please review the state board/commission page to determine if any changes have been made to the process since then.