How to Get an Appraiser License in Indiana

License levels recognized in Indiana

Click HERE to view state requirements.

  1. Trainee Appraiser
  2. Certified Residential Appraiser
  3. Certified General Appraiser
Indiana Appraiser License

Steps to becoming an appraiser in the state of Indiana

STEP 1: Find a supervisor/mentor to work with to log your experience hours. (Suggestions for finding a supervisor/mentor)

 

STEP 2: Successfully complete 75 hours of qualifying education courses approved by the Board.  In addition, successfully complete the AQB approved Supervisory/Trainee Course AND the Indiana-specific Supervisor-Trainee course. Successful completion requires passing the course final examinations for each course with a proctor. Proctoring requirement only applies to qualifying education and does not include the Supervisory course or law course. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

 

  1. Basic Appraisal Principles - 30 hours
  2. Basic Appraisal Procedures - 30 hours
  3. National USPAP Course or Equivalent - 15 hours
  4. Supervisor-Trainee Course - 4 hours

STEP 3: Submit the Application package which includes:

  1. Forms (Trainee Application Instructions) (Trainee Application)
  2. Fees (located on application)
  3. Education - completion certificates and/or official college transcripts
  4. Experience (Trainee Sample Log Format)
  5. Background information for criminal record check (Criminal Background Check Instructions)

STEP 4: Examination Process Must pass the national examination approved by AQB and the IN PLA. Indiana national exam provider is PSI.

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Downloads:

Ready to get started? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

McKissock courses and online delivery method are approved by the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency and International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC).

McKissock is the exclusive provider of The Appraisal Foundation's national online USPAP course for the past 10 years.

Indiana Appraiser License

Next steps after getting or upgrading your Indiana appraiser license

The appraiser license renewal cycle is two years.  All licenses must be renewed by 6/30 of even years.

Renewal Process

Education Requirement

  • All actively licensed or certified appraisers shall satisfactorily complete twenty-eight (28) classroom hours of continuing education within a two (2) year renewal period, which must include seven (7) hours of Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice, from real estate appraiser continuing education courses approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (“AQB”) or by the Real Estate Appraiser Licensure and Certification Board (“Board”).
  • The USPAP course must be taken within six (6) months from the date of its new effective date. CE requirements also apply to licensed trainees from the date of initial licensure. The newest version is released around October of the odd year and is effective on January 1 of the even year. Therefore, a licensee should take his/her USPAP course after the newest version is released which will always fall during the last 9 months of the renewal period. 
  • A license or certificate holder initially licensed within the last one hundred eighty-five (185) days of a two (2) year renewal period shall not be required to obtain any hours of continuing education. 
  • License expiration date is 6/30 of even years.  Education is due by 6/30 of even years.  7-hour USPAP course must be completed within 6 months after the effective date of USPAP.
  • If you have already taken a USPAP course this renewal period, it will count towards the required 28 hours; however you must complete the new USPAP course prior to renewing your license as well.

License Renewal

What is the renewal fee for an appraiser license?

  • Trainee: $110
  • Certified Residential: $160
  • Certified General: $160
  • If the renewal is paid after the expiration date there is a $50 additional late fee.

What coninuing education is required to renew an appraiser license?

  • The seven (7) hour Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) is required for each renewal cycle.
  • An additional twenty one (21) hours of elective courses must be either Board approved or found on the AQB Approved Course listing.
  • The classes may be taken in  the classroom setting, or
  • If they are AQB approved then they can be taken online.

RENEW YOUR LICENSE ONLINE

Trainee Renewal Application

Upgrade Renewal Application

Need to take classes for renewal? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Steps to upgrade your appraiser license in the state of Indiana

STEP 1: Hold a valid appriasal license and successfully complete the additional required qualifying education courses (see course requirements below by license level). Successful completion of qualifying education courses requires passing the course final examination for each course with a proctor. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

STEP 2: Complete and document all required experience hours for your upgrade level.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser - Provide 2,500 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 24 months
  • Certified General Appraiser - Provide 3,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 30 months of which a minimum of 1,500 hours must be non-residential real property appraisal experience

STEP 3: Complete courses and maintain copies of transcripts for all college level requirements.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser - (See table at top of page or view requirements HERE)
  • Certified General Appraiser - You must have a Bachelor's degree or higher.

*Continuing education requirements and process for license upgrade displayed in above renewal section.

STEP 4: Submit the Application package which includes:

  1. Forms (Application)
  2. Fees (located in application)
  3. Education – completion certificates and/or official college transcripts
  4. Experience (Experience Log)
  5. Background information for criminal records check.  (Criminal Background Check information

STEP 5: Examination Process Must pass the national examination approved by AQB and the IN PLA. Indiana national exam provider is PSI.

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Dowloads:

Ready to upgrade your license? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Qualifying education requirements by license level

Associate Trainee Appraiser (75 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 6 hours (includes 3 hours of Illinois-specific supervisor-trainee instruction)
Certified Residential Appraiser (200 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • FL Appraisal Subject Matter Electives - 25 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling or Finance – 15 hours
  • Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours
Certified General Appraiser  (300 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • FL Appraisal Subject Matter Electives - 25 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 30 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours
  • General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Income Approach – 60 hours
  • General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 30 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives – 30 hours

*These pages were updated on November 10, 2020.  Please review the state board/commission page to determine if any changes have been made to the process since then.