How to Get an Appraiser License in Louisiana

License levels recognized in Louisiana

Click HERE to view state requirements.

  1. Trainee Appraiser
  2. Certified Residential Appraiser
  3. Certified General Appraiser
Louisiana Appraiser License

Steps to becoming an appraiser in the state of Louisiana

STEP 1: Find a supervisor/mentor to work with to log your experience hours. (Suggestions for finding a supervisor/mentor)

STEP 2: Successfully complete 75 hours of qualifying education courses approved by the Board.  In addition, successfully complete the AQB approved Supervisory/Trainee Course AND the Illinois-specific Supervisor-Trainee course. Successful completion requires passing the course final examinations for each course with a proctor. Proctoring requirement only applies to qualifying education and does not include the Supervisory course or law course. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

  1. Basic Appraisal Principles - 30 hours
  2. Basic Appraisal Procedures - 30 hours
  3. National USPAP Course or Equivalent - 15 hours
  4. Supervisor-Trainee Course - 4 hours

STEP 3: Submit the Application package which includes:

  1. Forms (Trainee Application)
  2. Fees (located on application)
  3. Education - completion certificates and/or official college transcripts
  4. Experience (Experience Renew Application) (Experience Log)
  5. All applicants for a real estate appraiser license shall undergo a background screening as mandated by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) of the Appraisal Foundation and prescribed by the board.  Contact the Louisiana Appraiser Board for information at 225.925.1923.

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Downloads:

Ready to get started? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

McKissock courses and online delivery method are approved by the Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Board and International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC).

McKissock is the exclusive provider of The Appraisal Foundation's national online USPAP course for the past 10 years.

Louisiana Appraiser License

Next steps after getting or upgrading your Louisiana appraiser license

The appraiser license renewal cycle is two years.  All licenses must be renewed by 12/31 even numbered years.

Renewal Process

Education Requirement

  • Effective August 1, 2014 with the passage of HB1018 the Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Board requires all appraisers to obtain 28 hours of continuing education every two years, including 7 hours of the National USPAP Update (or Equivalent) course.  
  • Previous regulations required 30 hours of continuing education every two years.
  • Louisiana has no limits on the number of hours permitted online.
  • Due to an Appraisal Subcommittee requirement, the LREAB will be auditing the education records of all appraisers renewing their certification this year. All renewing appraisers must have earned 28 hours of continuing education credit, including the “7-hour USPAP Update” course, within the two-year renewal cycle. This education requirement must be completed to ensure timely renewal.
  • Courses completed to satisfy real estate license CE requirements will likely not count toward your appraisal CE requirement. It is mandatory for all renewing appraisers to send course completion certificates for all required education to the LREAB via email to [email protected] or mail to 9071 Interline Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70809.
  • License expiration date is 12/31 of even numbered years.  Education is also due on 12/31.
  • A license which is not renewed by January first shall be considered to be expired, and any appraisal practice that is conducted in this state after expiration of the license shall be deemed a violation of this Chapter.
  • Any licensee who submits a renewal application which is received by the board after the expiration date shall pay the delinquent fee .
  • Any licensee who fails to renew timely may thereafter renew during the six-month period immediately following the last date on which the licensee held a valid license.
  • Former licensees who are not eligible for renewal because of delay beyond the six-month delinquent renewal period shall apply as initial applicants.

Renewal Fees

The board shall charge and collect fees not in excess of the following:

  • License renewal fee:  $200.00
  • Delinquent renewal fee:
    • January 1 - February 15:  $25.00
    • February 16 - June 30:  $100.00
  • Processing Fee:  $25.00

Online renewal 

  • Renewal is done online throught the MyLREC Portal.
  • The MyLREC Portal is a tool for licensees and applicants ONLY.
  • If you do not have a license or if you have not submitted an application, you may apply on www.lrec.gov.
Click HERE to access the portal.

Need to take classes for renewal? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Steps to upgrade your appraiser license in the state of Louisiana

STEP 1: Hold a valid appriasal license and successfully complete the additional required qualifying education courses (see course requirements below by license level).

Successful completion of qualifying education courses requires passing the course final examination for each course with a proctor. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

STEP 2: Complete and document all required experience hours for your upgrade level.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,500 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 12 months
  • Certified General Appraiser - Provide 3,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 18 months of which a minimum of 1,500 hours must be non-residential real property appraisal experience

STEP 3: Complete courses and maintain copies of transcripts for all college level requirements.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser - (See table at top of page or view requirements HERE)
  • Certified General Appraiser - You must have a Bachelor's degree or higher.

STEP 4: Submit the Application package which includes:

  • Experience (Experience Log) (Experience Review Application)
  • All applicants for a real estate appraiser license shall undergo a background screening as mandated by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) of the Appraisal Foundation and prescribed by the board.  Contact the Louisiana Appraiser Board for information at 225.925.1923.

STEP 5: Examination Process Must pass the national examination approved by AQB and the LA REAB. Louisiana national exam provider is PSI.

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Dowloads:

 

*Continuing education requirements and process for license upgrade displayed in above renewal section.

Ready to upgrade your license? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Qualifying education requirements by license level

Trainee Appraiser (75 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
Certified Residential Appraiser (200 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling or Finance – 15 hours
  • Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours
Certified General Appraiser  (300 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 30 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours
  • General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Income Approach – 60 hours
  • General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 30 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives – 30 hours

*These pages were updated on November 10, 2020.  Please review the state board/commission page to determine if any changes have been made to the process since then.