How to Get an Appraiser License in Minnesota

License levels recognized in Minnesota

Click HERE to view state requirements.

  1. Trainee Real Property Appraiser
  2. Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser
  3. Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser
  4. Certified General Real Property Appraiser
Minnesota Appraiser License

Steps to becoming an appraiser in the state of Minnesota

STEP 1: Find a supervisor/mentor to work with to log your experience hours. (Suggestions for finding a supervisor/mentor)

STEP 2: Successfully complete 75 hours of qualifying education courses  approved by the Board.  In addition, successfully complete the AQB approved Supervisory/Trainee Course. Successful completion requires passing the course final examinations for each course with a proctor. Proctoring requirement only applies to qualifying education and does not include the Supervisory course. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

  1. Basic Appraisal Principles - 30 hours
  2. Basic Appraisal Procedures - 30-hours
  3. National USPAP Course or Equivalent - 15 hours
  4. Supervisor/Trainee Course - 4 hours

STEP 3: Submit the Application and fee to MN DOC which includes:

  1. Forms (Online Application)
  2. Fees (included on application)
  3. Education - completion certificates - After completing your online application, you must email documentation of your pre-license education to the Department of Commerce. Please put "Appraiser Licensing" in the subject field.
  4. Experience (Experience Log)

STEP 4: Fingerprint and background check is required. Under Minnesota law, an individual applying for an initial resident real estate appraiser license must consent to a criminal history record check and submit a fingerprint card. 

There are two options for having your fingerprints taken:

  1. You may pre-register with Idemia at (866) 761-8069 (Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Central time)  to schedule a time to be fingerprinted electronically at one of the Pearson VUE test centers that provides fingerprinting services. PearsonVUE cannot accommodate walk-ins. 
  2. You may go to any local police station or similar facility with manual fingerprinting capability to have your fingerprints taken manually.The facility will charge a processing fee. After your fingerprints are taken, the fingerprint card will be given back to you in a sealed envelope. Do not fold it. Put it into another envelope along with a fully completed “Resident Insurance Producer/Insurance Adjuster/Real Estate Appraiser License Background Check Consent Form” and a check for $33.25 made out to “Minnesota Department of Commerce” and mail it to:Government & External Affairs
    Attn: Licensing
    Minnesota Department of Commerce
    85 – 7th Place East, Suite 280
    St. Paul, MN  55101

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Downloads:

Ready to get started? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

McKissock courses and online delivery method are approved by the Minnesota Department of Commerce and International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC).

McKissock is the exclusive provider of The Appraisal Foundation's national online USPAP course for the past 10 years.

Minnesota Appraiser License

Next steps after getting or upgrading your Minnesota appraiser license

As an Appraisal licensee, you must renew your authorization every two years. Appraiser license renewals are available beginning July 1 and are submitted online. The deadline for renewal is August 31. Commerce strongly urges licensees to complete renewal requirements and renew your license at your earliest opportunity beginning in July.

Education Requirements

  • Minnesota Appraisers are required to obtain 30 hours of continuing education every 2 years.
  • Of those 30 hours, 7 must be the National USPAP Update or Equivalent course. 
  • Renewal cycle is every two years.  Education is due by 8/31 even years.
  • If the applicant's immediately preceding term of licensing consisted of six or more months, but fewer than 24 months, the applicant must provide evidence of completion of 15 hours of instruction during the license period. 
  • A Minnesota licensee cannot receive credit for more than 8 hours of CE in any 24 hour period.

Residents

  • When you apply to renew your license, the PULSE system will verify that you have completed your required continuing education (CE).
  • If you have not yet completed your CE, do so no later than August 15 or you run the risk of not being able to renew your license by the deadline.
  • Resident appraisers can review their CE transcript on www.pulseportal.com.
  • If a course has been completed but is not listed on the CE transcript, you will need to contact the course provider for assistance. The Department of Commerce cannot assist you with this issue. All completed continuing education must be uploaded by the course provider.

Nonresidents

  • After you have submitted your renewal application on Pulse Portal, email copies of your continuing education course completion certificates (all attached to ONE email) to the Department of Commerce at [email protected].
  • Your continuing education certificates must be received by our office before 4:30 PM Central Time on August 31.
  • Your renewal request will remain pending until your CE course completion certificates have been reviewed by the Department of Commerce.
  • Do not send multiple emails that each include only some of your certificates.

Renewals

The renewal window for appraiser renewals is open from July 1 to August 31 at 4:30 PM Central time. You cannot renew the license before July 1. There is no grace period for either CE completion or license renewal.

  • Renewals are performed online at Pulse Portal.
  • Do not use your browser’s “Back” button at any point in the process. Your progress will be lost and you will need to start from the beginning.
  • From the “Choose a state to begin” drop-down menu, select “Minnesota.”
  • From the “Choose a board to continue” drop-down menu, select “Appraiser.”
  • Under “License Renewals,” click on “Renew An Existing License.” This will call up the “Search License Renewal” screen.
  • Click the “Individual” radio button.
  • If you have completed your required continuing education (CE) and all of the required hours have been entered into the system, the “Attestation” screen will appear. Click the “I Agree” button.
  • The renewed license summary will appear. Click the “Continue” button.
  • The “Contact Information” screen will appear. Make any necessary additions or changes, click the “Save” button, then click the “Continue” button.
  • The Credit Card Information screen will appear. Enter all requested information. (Note: If your mailing address is in the United States, you do not need to enter anything in the “Country” field.) Click the “Continue” button.
  • Verify your information on the next screen. If something needs to be added or corrected, click the “Change My Request” button. If everything is correct, click the “Renew My License” button.
  • The confirmation page will appear. Please write down the Confirmation ID number and print the page for your records.

Note: If you do not print and click the “Close” button, a dialog box will appear asking you to print the page for your records. Clicking the “OK” button in this box will take you to the Home page.

Need to take classes for renewal? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Steps to upgrade your appraiser license in the state of Minnesota

STEP 1: Hold a valid appriasal license and successfully complete the additional required qualifying education courses (see course requirements below by license level). Successful completion of qualifying education courses requires passing the course final examination for each course with a proctor. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

STEP 2: Complete and document all required experience hours for your upgrade level.

  • Licensed Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 6 months
  • Certified Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,500 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 12 months
  • Certified General Appraiser - Provide 3,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 18 months of which a minimum of 1,500 hours must be non-residential real property appraisal experience

STEP 3: Complete courses and maintain copies of transcripts for all college level

requirements.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser - (See table at top of page or view requirements HERE)
  • Certified General Appraiser - You must have a Bachelor’s degree or higher.

STEP 4: Submit the Application package which includes:

  1. Forms (Online Application
  2. Fees (on application)
  3. Education – completion certificates and/or official college transcripts
  4. Experience (Experience Log)
  5. Background information for criminal records check. Under Minnesota law, an individual applying for an initial resident real estate appraiser license must consent to a criminal history record check and submit a fingerprint card.

There are two options for having your fingerprints taken:

  • You may pre-register with Idemia at (866) 761-8069 (Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Central time)  to schedule a time to be fingerprinted electronically at one of the Pearson VUE test centers that provides fingerprinting services. PearsonVUE cannot accommodate walk-ins. 
  • You may go to any local police station or similar facility with manual fingerprinting capability to have your fingerprints taken manually.The facility will charge a processing fee. After your fingerprints are taken, the fingerprint card will be given back to you in a sealed envelope. Do not fold it. Put it into another envelope along with a fully completed “Resident Insurance Producer/Insurance Adjuster/Real Estate Appraiser License Background Check Consent Form” and a check for $33.25 made out to “Minnesota Department of Commerce” and mail it to:

Government & External Affairs
Attn: Licensing
Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 – 7th Place East, Suite 280
St. Paul, MN  55101

STEP 5: Examination Process Must pass the national examination approved by AQB and MN DOC. Minnesota national exam provider is PearsonVUE.

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Dowloads:

*Continuing education requirements and process for license upgrade displayed in above renewal section.

Ready to upgrade your license? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Qualifying education requirements by license level

Trainee Real Property Appraiser (75 hours) - AQB recommended course order

 

  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours

 

 

Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser (200 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling or Finance – 15 hours
  • Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours
Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser (150 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest And Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
Certified General Real Property Appraiser (300 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 30 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours
  • General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Income Approach – 60 hours
  • General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 30 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives – 30 hours

*These pages were updated on November, 2020.  Please review the state board/commission page to determine if any changes have been made to the process since then.