How to Get an Appraiser License in the state of West Virginia

License levels recognized in West Virginia

Click HERE to view state requirements.

  1. Trainee Appraiser
  2. Licensed Residential Appraiser
  3. Certified Residential Appraiser
  4. Certified General Appraiser
West Virginia Appraiser License

Steps to becoming an appraiser in the state of West Virginia

STEP 1: Find a supervisor/mentor to work with to log your experience hours. (Suggestions for finding a supervisor/mentor) To gain your required experience hours you must train under an appraiser that meets all the following requirements:

  • Be certified as a general or residential appraiser for a minimum of 3 years..
  • Be in good standing for the 3 years immediately preceding their supervisor registration
  • Have no more than 3 trainees with less than 1 year experience
  • Have successfully completed a 4-hour Supervisory/Trainee course

STEP 2: Successfully complete 75 hours of qualifying education courses  approved by the Board.  In addition, successfully complete the AQB approved Supervisory/Trainee Course. Successful completion requires passing the course final examinations for each course with a proctor. Proctoring requirement only applies to qualifying education and does not include the Supervisory course. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

  1. Basic Appraisal Principles - 30 hours
  2. Basic Appraisal Procedures - 30-hours
  3. National USPAP Course or Equivalent - 15 hours
  4. Supervisor/Trainee Course - 4 hours
  5. West Virginia Law Course – 3 hours

STEP 3: Submit the Application and fee to WV REAB which includes:

  1. Forms (Trainee Application) (Supervisor Application)
  2. Fees (in Application)
  3. Education - completion certificates and/or official college transcripts
  4. Experience (Experience Log Instructions) (Experience Log) (Supervisor Affidavit)

STEP 4: Fingerprint and background check is required by AQB. Contact the Board Office for information on obtaining a background check. Phone: 304.558.3919.

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Downloads:

Ready to get started? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

McKissock courses and online delivery method are approved by the West Virginia Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board and International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC).

McKissock is the exclusive provider of The Appraisal Foundation's national online USPAP course for the past 10 years.

West Virginia Appraiser License

Next steps after getting or upgrading your West Virginia appraiser license

All West Virginia licenses expire on 9/3 of every year. Continuing Education is due annually on 8/31.

Renewal Process

Education Requirements

  • West Virginia Appraisers are required to complete 14 continuing education hours every 12 months.  Education is due by 8/31 annually.
  • A mandatory 7 hour National USPAP Update or Equivalent is due every other year or every other renewal and is due by 8/31 on the even numbered year.
  • Effective January 1, 2015, licensees applying for renewal shall successfully complete a 3-hour West Virginia law course, with exam, every four (4) years. This shall be in addition to the required 14 hours of continuing education for the renewal cycle (§190-3-4.2).
  • Effective July 1, 2015, an apprentice shall, as a condition of renewal, complete a three (3) hour West Virginia law course, with exam, every four (4) years (§190-2-11.6.a)

Fees

  • Apprentice Permit: $190
  • Licensed Residential (includes $40 ASC Federal Registry Fee): $305
  • Certified Residential (includes $40 ASC Federal Registry Fee): $355
  • Certified General (includes $40 ASC Federal Registry Fee): $505
  • Inactive Appraiser License: $150
  • Delinquent Fee (for applications received/postmarked after August 31st): $100
Online Renewal Checklist:

To ensure your application will not be rejected, have you:

  • Verified and updated all information on the application and made corrections as necessary?
  • Uploaded a 2 x 2 photograph taken within the last 12 months?
  • Answered all questions completely and truthfull on the application?
  • Uploaded documentation if responding "yes" to any questions?
  • Uploaded certificates of completion for fourteen (14) hour of WVREALCB-approved continuing education and the 3-hour WV Law Course (if due)?
  • Made correct payment for license or permit fee including delinquent fee, if applicable?

Online Renewals

  • Will be available August 1 through July 15 for the upcoming year.
  • For appraisers who choose to renew online please review the checklist and renew your license HERE
Mail-In Renewal Checklist

To ensure your application will not be rejected, have you:

  • Verified and updated all information on the application and made corrections as necessary?
  • Attached and securely taped a 2 x 2 photograph taken within the last 12 month to the application?
  • Answered all questions completely and truthfull on the application?
  • Attached documentation if responding "yes" to any questions?
  • Attached certificates of completion (copies accepted_ for fourteen (14) hours of WV REALCB approved continuing education and 3-hour WV Law Course (if required)?
  • Signed and dated your application?
  • Enclosed a check or money order made payable to WVAB for you license or permit fee including any delinquent fee, if applicable?
  • Addressed envelope to the correct address - PO Box 40267, Charleston, WV 25364?

Mail-In (Hard Copy) Renewals

Please read the instructions below and refer to the Mail-In Renewal Checklist to ensure your application is complete.

Persuant to West Virginia Code §30-38-11 and Legislative Rule §190-3-3:

  • Complete applications for license renewal, along with the appropriate license fee and required continuing education, mut be received by WV REALCB (30) days prior to September 30th.
  • All applications must be received online or postmarked by August 31 each year.
  • Applications received online or postmarked after August 31st must be accompanied by te $100 delinquent fee.
  • Hard copy renewal applications must be mailt to West Virginia Appraiser Board, PO Box 40267, Charleston, WV 25364.
  • Failure to do so will result in your application being returned.
  • Additional a delay weith issuing your license or permit will occur and could result in a delinquent fee.
  • You can download a paper application HERE.  Choose Forms - Appraiser Forms - Renewal Packet

Need to take classes for renewal? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Steps to upgrade your appraiser license in the state of West Virginia

STEP 1: Hold a valid appriasal license and successfully complete the additional required qualifying education courses (see course requirements below by license level). Successful completion of qualifying education courses requires passing the course final examination for each course with a proctor. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

STEP 2: Complete and document all required experience hours for your upgrade level.

  • Licensed Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 6 months
  • Certified Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,500 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 12 months.
  • Certified General Appraiser - Provide 3,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 18 months of which a minimum of 1,500 hours must be non-residential real property appraisal experience

STEP 3: Complete courses and maintain copies of transcripts for all college level requirements.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser - (See table at top of page or view requirements HERE)
  • Certified General Appraiser - You must have a Bachelor’s degree or higher.

*Continuing education requirements and process for license upgrade displayed in above renewal section.

STEP 4: Submit the Application package which includes:

  1. Forms (License Upgrade Application)
  2. Fees (Fee Information in Application)
  3. Education – completion certificates and/or official college transcripts 
  4. Experience (Experience Log Instructions) (Experience Log
  5. Background information for criminal records check. Contact the Board Office for information on obtaining a background check. Phone: 304.558.3919.

STEP 5: Examination Process Must pass the national examination approved by AQB and WV REAB. West Virginia national exam provider is PearsonVUE.

 

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Dowloads:

Ready to upgrade your license? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Qualifying education requirements by license level

Trainee Appraiser (75 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • West Virginia Law Course – 3 hours

 

Certified Residential Appraiser (200 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • West Virginia Law Course – 3 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling or Finance – 15 hours
  • Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours
Licensed Residential Appraiser (150 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • West Virginia Law Course – 3 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest And Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
Certified General Appraiser (300 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • West Virginia Law Course – 3 hours
  • General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 30 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours
  • General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Income Approach – 60 hours
  • General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 30 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives – 30 hours

*These pages were updated on December 1, 2020.  Please review the state board/commission page to determine if any changes have been made to the process since then.