How to Get an Appraiser License in Wyoming

License levels recognized in Wyoming

Click HERE to view state requirements.

  1. Trainee Appraiser
  2. Certified Residential Appraiser
  3. Certified General Appraiser
Wyoming Appraiser License

Steps to becoming an appraiser in the state of Wyoming

STEP 1: Find a supervisor/mentor to work with to log your experience hours. (Suggestions for finding a supervisor/mentor)

STEP 2: Successfully complete 75 hours of qualifying education courses approved by the Board.  In addition, successfully complete the AQB approved Supervisory/Trainee Course AND the Illinois-specific Supervisor-Trainee course. Successful completion requires passing the course final examinations for each course with a proctor. Proctoring requirement only applies to qualifying education and does not include the Supervisory course or law course. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

  1. Basic Appraisal Principles - 30 hours
  2. Basic Appraisal Procedures - 30 hours
  3. National USPAP Course or Equivalent - 15 hours
  4. Supervisor-Trainee Course - 4 hours

STEP 3: Submit the Application package which includes:

  • Education - completion certificates and/or official college transcripts (Education Course Summary)
  • Experience (Experience Log)
  • All applicants are required to undergo mandatory fingerprinting and criminal background check from your local law enforcement agency.  * Per our agency policy with Wyoming DCI, all fingerprint reports generated from a fingerprint background check are valid for ninety (90) calendar days after the report is issued to our agency. If you do not complete your application before your fingerprint results report expires, you will have to go through this process again. You can contact our agency to determine if/when your report has been issued. (Mandatory Fingerprinting Information)

Trainees in Wyoming are not required to pass the national examination.

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Downloads:

Ready to get started? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

McKissock courses and online delivery method are approved by the Wyoming Certified Real Estate Appraiser Board and International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC).

McKissock is the exclusive provider of The Appraisal Foundation's national online USPAP course for the past 10 years.

Wyoming Appraiser License

Next steps after getting or upgrading your Wyoming appraiser license

The appraiser license renewal cycle is two years.  All licenses must be renewed every two years on the anniversary of the initial license date.

Renewal Process

Education Requirement

  • Wyoming Appraisers are required to complete 28 continuing education hours every 24 months including 7 hours of the National USPAP Update or Equivalent.
  • All licensees shall complete the seven (7) hour National USPAP Update course before April 1st of the year a new edition of USPAP becomes effective.
  • Wyoming has no limits on the number of hours permitted online.
  • License expiration date is 2 years from the date issued.  Renewal and education are due at that time.

Renewal Fees

The board shall charge and collect fees not in excess of the following:

  • Certified Trainee:  $20 ($20 Education Fund)
  • Certified Residential:  $500 ($400 Renewal; $20 Education Fund; $80 Federal Registry)
  • Certified General:  $500 ($400 Renewal; $20 Education Fund; $80 Federal Registry)
  • INACTIVE Certified General & Residential:  $420 ($400 Renewal: $20 Education Fund)
  • Paper Processing Fee:  $25

Online renewal 

In an effort to enhance service and streamline licensing processes, the Wyoming Certified Appraiser Board provides online renewals and the ability to access contact information, permit information, and continuing education credits anytime.

Follow the steps below to view account and renewal a permit. You will have to create a new account using the email that you used previously for your appraiser permit.

The online process works best on Chrome or Firefox.

STEP 1:   Click to view the "Create Your Account" instructions.  

STEP 2: Click HERE to create your new online account and view your information.
Questions? Call 307.777.7141 or email at [email protected]

Renewal by Mail

STEP 1: Fill out the RENEWAL APPLICATION

STEP 2: Enclose check and mail to:

Wyoming Real Estate Commission &

Certified Appraiser Board

2617 E Lincolnway, Suite H

Cheyenne, WY 82002

STEP 3: Email a copy of your digital photo to [email protected] (paper renewal ONLY)

Need to take classes for renewal? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Steps to upgrade your appraiser license in the state of Wyoming

STEP 1: Hold a valid appriasal license and successfully complete the additional required qualifying education courses (see course requirements below by license level).

Successful completion of qualifying education courses requires passing the course final examination for each course with a proctor. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

STEP 2: Complete and document all required experience hours for your upgrade level.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,500 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 12 months
  • Certified General Appraiser - Provide 3,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 18 months of which a minimum of 1,500 hours must be non-residential real property appraisal experience

STEP 3: Complete courses and maintain copies of transcripts for all college level requirements.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser - (See table at top of page or view requirements HERE)
  • Certified General Appraiser - You must have a Bachelor's degree or higher.

STEP 4: Submit the Application package which includes:

  • Experience (Experience Log
  • All applicants are required to undergo mandatory fingerprinting and criminal background check from your local law enforcement agency.  * Per our agency policy with Wyoming DCI, all fingerprint reports generated from a fingerprint background check are valid for ninety (90) calendar days after the report is issued to our agency. If you do not complete your application before your fingerprint results report expires, you will have to go through this process again. You can contact our agency to determine if/when your report has been issued. (Fingerprint Card Instructions)

STEP 5: Examination Process Must pass the national examination approved by AQB and the WY CAB. Wyoming national exam provider is AMP.

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Dowloads:

 

*Continuing education requirements and process for license upgrade displayed in above renewal section.

Ready to upgrade your license? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Qualifying education requirements by license level

Trainee Appraiser (75 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
Certified Residential Appraiser (200 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling or Finance – 15 hours
  • Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours
Certified General Appraiser  (300 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 30 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours
  • General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Income Approach – 60 hours
  • General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 30 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives – 30 hours

*These pages were updated on November 10, 2020.  Please review the state board/commission page to determine if any changes have been made to the process since then.