Home » Appraisal » Licensing » Florida » Requirements

How to Earn or Upgrade Your Florida Appraiser License

Property appraisers often have a flexible schedule and the potential for greater income control while enjoying the benefits that come from owning their own business. If you’re interested in learning how to become an appraiser in Florida or advancing your current license, McKissock Learning provides the necessary qualifying education and coursework to help you reach your objectives.  

MIAMI BEACH, FLORIDA, USA - FEBRUARY 18, 2018: Vintage Car Parked along Ocean Drive in the Famous Art Deco District in South Beach. South Beach, FL

Florida Appraiser License: Registered Trainee Appraiser

Total Hours Required: 104 hrs
Mandatory Hours:
Elective Hours:

How to become an appraiser in Florida

The first step to become an appraiser in Florida is to get your license as a Registered Trainee Appraiser. As a trainee, you’ll work directly under a Certified Supervisory Appraiser who will make sure you get hands-on experience in evaluating properties, researching real estate information, and writing appraisal reports. Before you can apply to be a Registered Trainee Appraiser, you must complete the following steps:  

Step 1:  Complete the required education 

  • 100 hours of qualifying Florida appraiser education 
  • Supervisory/Trainee Appraiser Course 

Step 2: Connect with a Supervisory Appraiser 

Before you apply for your license, you need to have a Certified Residential or General Appraiser agree to act as your Supervisory Appraiser. They must also take the Supervisory/Trainee Appraiser Course for Florida.  

Step 3: Apply for your Trainee License 

To apply as a Registered Trainee Appraiser you’ll need to complete the initial application, undergo fingerprinting and a background check, and provide proof of completing the required courses. You’ll also need to pay any licensing and application fees.   

What does a Florida property appraiser do?  

Appraisers estimate a property’s market value. Typically, they complete a comprehensive physical inspection to note the square footage, quality and condition, and amenities of the property. They also research the local real estate market, including tax records and recently sold comparable properties to determine an accurate valuation. They also write detailed appraisal reports of their findings.  

Required courses to become a trainee appraiser in Florida

  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours 
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours 
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours 
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (including six hours of Florida Laws and Rules) – 25 hours 
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course for Florida – 4 hours 

Online Info

Effective July 30, 2014, The Florida Real Estate Appraisal Board permits Qualifying Education to be completed online. 
*Note all proctored exams must be taken online through the eproctor system. 

Required Education: 
104 Hours: 
Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours)
Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours) 
National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
Supervisor/Trainee Course for Florida – 4 hours
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (25 hours which shall include 6 hours of the Florida Laws and Rules).


2015 AQB Supervisor/Trainee Course Requirement: Both the Trainee Appraiser and Supervisory Appraiser shall be required to complete a course that, at minimum, complies with the specifications for course content established by the AQB. The course must be completed by the Trainee Appraiser prior to obtaining a Trainee Appraiser credential, and completed by the Supervisory Appraiser prior to supervising a Trainee Appraiser. 
 

61J1-4.001 Qualifying Education (5): students failing the Board approved end-of-course examination must wait at least 30 days from the date of the original examination to take the alternate end-of-course examination. Within one year of the original end-of-course examination, a student may retake the prescribed end-of-course exam a maximum of one time.


Experience: N/A 

College Education: N/A

Online Limitations

The Florida Real Estate Appraisal Board requires a timing mechanism for all qualifying distance education courses to ensure that the courses cannot be completed in less time than the approved credit hours. Please note that your course will time out after several minutes of inactivity.

Roster

Roster Required: yes
Roster Process:

Rosters are sent electronically each business day.

Roster Sent Every 1 days

Governing Agency

Florida Real Estate Appraisal Board
Phone: 8504871395
Fax: 4073177245
Address: 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, FL 32399

Good to Know: FAQs for how to become an appraiser in Florida

Should I get my Florida appraiser license? 

Lenders, property owners, government agencies, and even legal professionals need property appraisals at any given point. Regardless of fluctuations in the real estate market, becoming an appraiser can be a very stable, lucrative career, especially with its lower start-up costs compared to other professions.  

How long does it take to become a Florida real estate appraiser?  

There’s not a specific time to become a Registered Trainee Appraiser. Because you only need 104 hours of required education, most people can complete it quickly, especially with McKissock’s self-guided, on-demand qualifying education packages. These let you complete courses when and where it’s convenient for you.  

We also offer livestreaming courses that let you engage with the instructor, ask questions, and stay on track without getting overwhelmed.  

While you compete your courses, we also recommend you use this time to find a supervisory appraiser. Once these steps are done, you can begin the application process and background check. While times vary, getting your Florida appraiser license from the state board usually takes a few weeks.  

Helpful resources: