How to Get an Appraiser License in the state of Hawaii

License levels recognized in Hawaii

Click HERE to view state requirements.

  1. Real Estate Appraiser Trainee
  2. State Licensed Appraiser
  3. Certified Residential Appraiser
  4. Certified General Appraiser
Hawaii Appraiser License

Steps to becoming an appraiser in the state of Hawaii

STEP 1: Find a supervisor/mentor to work with to log your experience hours. (Suggestions for finding a supervisor/mentor) To gain your required experience hours you must train under an appraiser that meets all the following requirements:

  • Be certified as a general or residential appraiser for a minimum of 3 years..
  • Be in good standing for the 3 years immediately preceding their supervisor registration
  • Have no more than 3 trainees with less than 1 year experience
  • Have successfully completed a 4-hour Supervisory/Trainee course

STEP 2: Successfully complete 75 hours of qualifying education courses  approved by the Board.  In addition, successfully complete the AQB approved Supervisory/Trainee Course. Successful completion requires passing the course final examinations for each course with a proctor. Proctoring requirement only applies to qualifying education and does not include the Supervisory course. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

  1. Basic Appraisal Principles - 30 hours
  2. Basic Appraisal Procedures - 30-hours
  3. National USPAP Course or Equivalent - 15 hours
  4. Supervisor/Trainee Course - 4 hours

STEP 3: Submit the Application and fee to HI DCCA which includes:

  1. Forms (Appraiser Trainee Instructions & Application)
  2. Fees (Fees in application)
  3. Education - completion certificates and/or official college transcripts (Education Log)
  4. Experience (Supervisor Form) (Experience Log)

STEP 4: Fingerprint and background check is required by AQB. (Fingerprinting/Background Check Information)

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Downloads:

Ready to get started? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

McKissock courses and online delivery method are approved by the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs and International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC).

McKissock is the exclusive provider of The Appraisal Foundation's national online USPAP course for the past 10 years.

Hawaii Appraiser License

Next steps after getting or upgrading your Hawaii appraiser license

Appraisal licenses expire every two years on 12/31, odd numbered years. Renewal hardcopy forms are mailed out 11/1 of odd years.

Renewal Process

Education Requirements

  • Hawaii Appraisers are required to take 28 continuing education hours every 24 months including the mandatory 7 hour National USPAP Update course or Equivalent.
  • Appraisers receiving their first license or certificate (new license) on or after 1/1 of odd years but before 10/1 of odd years must provide proof of 14 hours of CE.  These would be licensees with more than 18 months of licensure but less than 2 years.
  • Appraisers receiving their first license or certificate (new license) after 6/30 odd yearsare not required to submit proof of CE hours.  These would be licensees with less than 18 months of licensure.
  • The 7-hour USPAP update course is included in the total number of requisite hours mentioned above. A 15-hour USPAP course will not be accepted to fulfill either the USPAP requirement or the additional hours required to renew your license.
  • All Licenses regardless of issuance date, are subject to renewal by December 31 of every odd-numbered year even if education is not required.

Renewing an Active License/Certificate

  • To request a hardcopy rewewal form: Contact The Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch at 808.586.3000 or
  • Pick up at office location: King Kalakaua Building 335 Merchant Street, Rm. 301 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813
  • Hrs: The DCCA will be open 7:45 AM – 12:00 PM (Hawaii Standard Time), Monday to Friday, except state holidays.
  • Pocket ID: You MUST retrieve and print your pocket ID online via your MyPVL account athttps://pvl.ehawaii.gov/mypvl. No other notice will be provided.
  • Licenses not renewed by license expiration date are unlicensed and may not practice.

Processing Time for Renewals (early submissions strongly recommended)

  • Processing times are average and subject to licensees meeting all requirements.
  • Processing times may be longer due to high volume of renewals received.
  • Online - 3-5 Business Days
  • Hardcopy - 14-21 Business Days

Renewal Fees

  • Real Estate Appraisers - All (CGA, CRA, SLA) - active status: $302.00
  • Real Estate Appraisers - All (CGA, CRA, SLA) - inactive status: $12.00
  • Real Estate Appraiser Trainee (REAT) - $75.00

Restoration Information

  • Forfeited licenses may be restored within 2 years and subject to meeting restoration requirements.
  • Failure to restore a forfeited license within 2 years after the license expiration date will result in the termination of the license and the person must apply as a new applicant and meet current licensing requirements.

To Request Harcopy Restoration Form

  • Contact: The Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch at 808.586.3000 or
  • Pick up at office location: King Kalakaua Building 335 Merchant Street, Rm. 301 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813
  • Hrs: The DCCA will be open 7:45 AM – 12:00 PM (Hawaii Standard Time), Monday to Friday, except state holidays.
  • Pursuant to Section 436B-14.5, HRS , any registration held by a member of the armed forces, National Guard, or a reserve component that expires, is forfeited, or deemed delinquent while the member is on active duty and deployed during a state or national crisis shall be restored if certain restoration requirements are met. Military Renewal and Restoration Information Sheet.

Restoration Fees (late renewal fees)

  • Real Estate Appraisers - All (CGA< CRA, SLA) - active status - $322.00
  • Real Estate Appraisers - All (CSA, CRA, SLA) - inactive status - $32.00
  • Real Estate Appraiser Trainee (REAT) - $95.00

To start your renewal click HERE.

Need to take classes for renewal? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Steps to upgrade your appraiser license in the state of Hawaii

STEP 1: Hold a valid appriasal license and successfully complete the additional required qualifying education courses (see course requirements below by license level). Successful completion of qualifying education courses requires passing the course final examination for each course with a proctor. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

STEP 2: Complete and document all required experience hours for your upgrade level.

  • Licensed Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 16months
  • Certified Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,500 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 12 months.
  • Certified General Appraiser - Provide 3,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 18 months of which a minimum of 1,500 hours must be non-residential real property appraisal experience

STEP 3: Complete courses and maintain copies of transcripts for all college level requirements.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser - (See table at top of page or view requirements HERE)
  • Certified General Appraiser - You must have a Bachelor’s degree or higher.

*Continuing education requirements and process for license upgrade displayed in above renewal section.

STEP 4: Submit the Application package which includes:

  1. Forms (Instructions and Application
  2. Fees (Fee on application)
  3. Education – completion certificates and/or official college transcripts (Education Log)
  4. Experience (Experience Log) (Employment & Experience History)
  5. Background information for criminal records check. (Fingerprinting/Background Check Information

STEP 5: Examination Process Must pass the national examination approved by AQB and HI DCCA. Hawaii national exam provider is PearsonVUE.

 

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Dowloads:

Ready to upgrade your license? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Qualifying education requirements by license level

Real Estate Appraiser Trainee (75 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours

 

 

Certified Residential Appraiser (200 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling or Finance – 15 hours
  • Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours
State Licensed Appraiser (150 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest And Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
Certified General Appraiser (300 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 30 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours
  • General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Income Approach – 60 hours
  • General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 30 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives – 30 hours

*These pages were updated on December 1, 2020.  Please review the state board/commission page to determine if any changes have been made to the process since then.