How to Get an Appraiser License in the state of Nebraska

License levels recognized in Nebraska

Click HERE to view state requirements.

  1. Trainee Appraiser
  2. Licensed Residential Appraiser
  3. Certified Residential Appraiser
  4. Certified General Appraiser
Nebraska Appraiser License

Steps to becoming an appraiser in the state of Nebraska

STEP 1: Find a supervisor/mentor to work with to log your experience hours. (Suggestions for finding a supervisor/mentor) To gain your required experience hours you must train under an appraiser that meets all the following requirements:

  • Be certified as a general or residential appraiser for a minimum of 3 years..
  • Be in good standing for the 3 years immediately preceding their supervisor registration
  • Have no more than 3 trainees with less than 1 year experience
  • Have successfully completed a 4-hour Supervisory/Trainee course

STEP 2: Successfully complete 75 hours of qualifying education courses  approved by the Board.  In addition, successfully complete the AQB approved Supervisory/Trainee Course. Successful completion requires passing the course final examinations for each course with a proctor. Proctoring requirement only applies to qualifying education and does not include the Supervisory course. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

  1. Basic Appraisal Principles - 30 hours
  2. Basic Appraisal Procedures - 30-hours
  3. National USPAP Course or Equivalent - 15 hours
  4. Supervisor/Trainee Course - 4 hours

STEP 3: Submit the Application and fee to NE RPAB which includes:

  1. Forms (Trainee Application)
  2. Fees (Fees in application)
  3. Education - completion certificates and/or official college transcripts
  4. Experience (Experience Log Cover Sheet) (Experience Log) (Supervisory Appraiser Registration)

STEP 4: Fingerprint and background check is required by AQB. (Instructions for Fingerprint/Background Check)

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Downloads:

Ready to get started? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

McKissock courses and online delivery method are approved by the Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board and International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC).

McKissock is the exclusive provider of The Appraisal Foundation's national online USPAP course for the past 10 years.

Nebraska Appraiser License

Next steps after getting or upgrading your Nebraska appraiser license

Appraisal licenses expire every two years on 12/31, even numbered years.

Renewal Process

Education Requirements

  • Nebraska Appraisers are required to complete 28 continuing education hours every 24 months including the National USPAP Update (or Equivalent).
  • Licenses expire on 12/31 of even numbered years.
  • Education is due by 11/30 of even numbered years.
  • All applications for renewal, along with evidence of continuing education completion for Nebraska resident appraisers, are due to the Board’s office no later than November 30 of the designated year.
  • If a credential holder was awarded his or her initial credential prior to July 1st of the current year, his or her continuing education period begins in the year of issuance and ends December 31st of the next year.
  • If a credential holder was awarded his or her initial credential after July 1st of the current year, his or her continuing education period begins January 1st of the next year.
  • Only the application for renewal is due to the Board’s office by November 30th for any credential holder that was awarded his or her credential during the current year.

Renewing a Trainee License

  • Click HERE for a renewal form.
  • Complete entire application. If required information is not provided, the application will be considered incomplete and will not be
    processed. An application not processed for any reason may be returned to you.
  • Along with the application, the following documentation is also required to be included:
    • Check or money order for non-refundable random fingerprint program fee, $10 (due even if you were not randomly selected to
      submit fingerprints with your application) and any applicable late processing fee, $25/month or portion of month.
    • All copies of certificates for education activities required of the applicant not submitted through the Education Submission
      Portal in Appraiser Login or previously provided to and approved by the NRPAB. Click HERE to access the portal.
    • Two sets of fingerprints. Only required if you were notified by the NRPAB to submit fingerprint cards. The Nebraska State Patrol
      will not process cards if the information at the top of the cards is not completed, the cards are not signed by both the individual
      being fingerprinted and the official taking the fingerprints, or the cards are more than 1 year old. If fingerprints are being
      submitted electronically, the NRPAB ORI Number is NB920183Z. If fingerprints are required, a signed and dated Authorization to Use Fingerprints for National Criminal History Check Through the Nebraska State Patrol and the Federal Bureau of Investigation form is required to accompany the application. The form was sent with the notification that fingerprints are required and is also available on the Board’s website at https://appraiser.ne.gov/ (click 2021-2022 Renewal Applications link located in menu box on right side of page).
    • Completed and signed renewal checklist.
  • Mail application, fee(s), and supporting documentation to:
    NEBRASKA REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER BOARD
    PO BOX 94963
    LINCOLN, NE 68509-4963
    Street address for FedEx or UPS is 301 CENTENNIAL MALL SOUTH, FIRST FLOOR, LINCOLN NE 68509.
  • Questions or concerns may be directed to Board Staff at 402-471-9015 or [email protected]

Renewing a License - LR, CR, CG - 1 and 2 year renewals

  • Click HERE for the renewal form.
  • Complete entire application. If required information is not provided, application may be considered incomplete and will not
    be processed. An application not processed for any reason may be returned to you.
  • Along with the application, the following is also required to be included:
    • Check or money order for non-refundable credential registration fee, Federal Registry fee, and random fingerprint program fee. If a late processing fee is applicable, include this amount as well. See below for late processing fee requirements.
    • Any copies of certificates for continuing education activities required of the applicant not submitted through the Education Submission Portal in Appraiser Login or previously submitted to and approved by the NRPAB. Click HERE for online portal.
    • Copy of certificate for 7-Hour National USPAP Update Course if due in 2020 and not submitted through the Education Submission Portal in Appraiser Login or previously submitted and approved by the NRPAB, even if the renewal is in the middle of the CE period and no other certificates are required at this time.
    • Two sets of fingerprints. Only required if you were notified by the NRPAB to submit fingerprint cards. The Nebraska State Patrol will not process cards if the information at the top of the cards is not completed, the cards are not signed by both the individual being fingerprinted and the official taking the fingerprints, or the cards are more than 1 year old. If fingerprints are being submitted electronically, the NRPAB ORI Number is NB920183Z. If fingerprints are required, a signed and dated Authorization to Use Fingerprints for National Criminal History Check Through the Nebraska State Patrol and the Federal Bureau of Investigation form is required to accompany the application. The form was sent with the notification that fingerprints are required and is also available on the Board’s website at https://appraiser.ne.gov/ (click 2021-2022 Renewal Applications link located in menu box on right side of
      page).
    • Completed and signed renewal checklist.
  • Mail application, fee(s), and supporting documentation to:
    NEBRASKA REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER BOARD
    PO BOX 94963
    LINCOLN, NE 68509-4963
    Street address for FedEx or UPS is 301 CENTENNIAL MALL SOUTH, FIRST FLOOR, LINCOLN NE 68509.
  • Questions or concerns may be directed to Board staff at 402-471-9015 or [email protected]

Fees

  • Fees for 1-year renewal application: $275 credentialing fee, $40 Federal Registry fee, and $5 random fingerprint program fee,
    total $320.
  • Fees for 2-year renewal application: $550 credentialing fee, $80 Federal Registry fee, and $10 random fingerprint program fee,
    total $640.
  • Assessed late fees for late renewals: $25/month or portion of a month.
  • Each successfully renewed credential holder will receive access to a free, one-time digital download of the current edition of
    USPAP.

Need to take classes for renewal? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Steps to upgrade your appraiser license in the state of Nebraska

STEP 1: Hold a valid appriasal license and successfully complete the additional required qualifying education courses (see course requirements below by license level). Successful completion of qualifying education courses requires passing the course final examination for each course with a proctor. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

STEP 2: Complete and document all required experience hours for your upgrade level.

  • Licensed Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 16months
  • Certified Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,500 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 12 months.
  • Certified General Appraiser - Provide 3,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 18 months of which a minimum of 1,500 hours must be non-residential real property appraisal experience

STEP 3: Complete courses and maintain copies of transcripts for all college level requirements.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser - (See table at top of page or view requirements HERE)
  • Certified General Appraiser - You must have a Bachelor’s degree or higher.

*Continuing education requirements and process for license upgrade displayed in above renewal section.

STEP 4: Submit the Application package which includes:

  1. Forms (Licensed Residential Application) (Certified Residential Application) (Certified General Application
  2. Fees (Fee on application)
  3. Education – completion certificates and/or official college transcripts 
  4. Experience (Experience Log Cover Sheet) (Experience Log
  5. Background information for criminal records check. (Instructions for Fingerprint/Background Check

STEP 5: Examination Process Must pass the national examination approved by AQB and NE RPAB. Nebraska national exam provider is AMP.

 

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Dowloads:

Ready to upgrade your license? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Qualifying education requirements by license level

Trainee Appraiser (75 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours

 

 

Certified Residential Appraiser (200 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling or Finance – 15 hours
  • Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours
Licensed Residential Appraiser (150 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest And Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
Certified General Appraiser (300 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 30 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours
  • General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Income Approach – 60 hours
  • General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 30 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives – 30 hours

*These pages were updated on December 1, 2020.  Please review the state board/commission page to determine if any changes have been made to the process since then.