How to Get an Appraiser License in Nevada

License levels recognized in Nevada

Click HERE to view state requirements.

  1. Registered Intern
  2. Licensed Residential Appraiser
  3. Certified Residential Appraiser
  4. Certified General Appraiser
Nevada Appraiser License

Steps to becoming an appraiser in the state of Nevada

STEP 1: Find a supervisor/mentor to work with to log your experience hours. (Suggestions for finding a supervisor/mentor)

STEP 2: Successfully complete 75 hours of qualifying education courses  approved by the Board.  In addition, successfully complete the AQB approved Supervisory/Trainee Course. Successful completion requires passing the course final examinations for each course with a proctor. Proctoring requirement only applies to qualifying education and does not include the Supervisory course. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

  1. Basic Appraisal Principles - 30 hours
  2. Basic Appraisal Procedures - 30-hours
  3. National USPAP Course or Equivalent - 15 hours
  4. Laws for Nevada Appraisers - 3 hours
  5. Supervisor/Trainee Course - 4 hours

STEP 3: Submit the Application and fee to NV RED which includes:

  1. Forms (Intern Application)
  2. Fees (included on application)
  3. Education - completion certificates and/or official college transcripts
  4. Experience (Experience Log)
  5. Pursuant to NAC 645C.068 Registered interns are required to attend 6 hours of a Commission hearing prior to applying for a license/certification.  Click HERE for meeting schedule.

STEP 4: Fingerprint and background check is required. 

  • A copy of the applicant’s criminal history and fingerprints are required for all licensees.
  • (Fingerprint Vendors)

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Downloads:

Ready to get started? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

McKissock courses and online delivery method are approved by the Nevada Real Estate Appraisal Commission and International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC).

McKissock is the exclusive provider of The Appraisal Foundation's national online USPAP course for the past 10 years.

Nevada Appraiser License

Next steps after getting or upgrading your Nevada appraiser license

As an Appraisal licensee, you must renew your license every  two years. Nevada Appraisal registrations, licenses and certificates are valid for a 2-year period.  There is no grace period for renewal.  Licenses expire on the 2-year anniversary of the date of issuance.

Education Requirements

  • Nevada Appraisers are required to complete 30 continuing education hours every 24 months including the National USPAP Update course.
  • This requirement may now be met through distance education.
  • Nevada has no limitations on the number of CE hours permitted online.
  • Licenses expire every two years on the anniversary of the date issued.
  • Renewal fees application and education are both due.

License Renewal

Renewing an Active License/Certificate
  • Proof of completing not less than 30 hours of Commission approved continuing education courses, including 7 hours of the National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) Update.
  • This requirement may now be met through distance education;

Applicable fees:

  • Intern - $190.00
  • Licensed Residential - $320.00
  • Certified Residential - $320.00
  • Certified General - $420.00
  • Completed Renewal Form

(Includes $40.00 Appraiser Investigative Fee (AIF); Includes $80.00 Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC) fee.)

Licensees applying for renewal after midnight of the license expiration date must remit, in addition to license renewal fee, the penalty fee, plus, if applicable, Reinstatement Form and Reinstatement fees.

Renewal of Intern Registration
  • Proof of completing not less than 30 hours of Commission approved continuing education courses, including 7 hours of the National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) Update.
  • This requirement may now be met through distance education.
  • $190 renewal fee
  • Completed Renewal Form
Reinstating a License/Certificate
  • If the license or certificate has been on inactive status for two-years or less, or for more than 2 years including the initial period of certification or licensure.
  • Proof of completing not less than 30 hours of Commission approved continuing education courses, including 7 hours of the National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) Update.
  • This requirement may now be met through distance education.

Applicable fees:

  • Reinstatement fee of $30
  • Renewal fee, if applicable
  • Licensed Residential - $320.00
  • Certified Residential - $320.00
  • Certified General - $420.00

Fingerprint cards, if inactive one year or more. These are required for the applicant whose license has been on “inactive” status for 12 months or longer.

Completed reinstatement Form

If the license or certificate has been inactive for more than 2 years, no part of which includes the initial period of certification or licensure:

Proof of completing 15 hours of commission approved continuing education courses for each year that the certificate or license was on inactive status;

  • Reinstatement fee of $30
  • Renewal fee, if applicable
  • Licensed Residential - $320.00
  • Certified Residential - $320.00
  • Certified General - $420.00

Fingerprint cards, if inactive one year or more. These are required for the applicant whose license has been on “inactive” status for 12 months or longer.

Completed reinstatement Form

Need to take classes for renewal? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Steps to upgrade your appraiser license in the state of Nevada

STEP 1: Hold a valid appriasal license and successfully complete the additional required qualifying education courses (see course requirements below by license level). Successful completion of qualifying education courses requires passing the course final examination for each course with a proctor. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

STEP 2: Complete and document all required experience hours for your upgrade level.

  • Licensed Residential Appraiser - Provide 2,400 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 24 months
  • Certified Residential Appraiser - Provide 2,500 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 24 months
  • Certified General Appraiser - Provide 3,600 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 36 months of which a minimum of 1,500 hours must be non-residential real property appraisal experience

STEP 3: Complete courses and maintain copies of transcripts for all college level requirements.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser - (See table at top of page or view requirements HERE)
  • Certified General Appraiser - You must have a Bachelor’s degree or higher.

*Continuing education requirements and process for license upgrade displayed in above renewal section.

STEP 4: Submit the Application package which includes:

  1. Forms (Application
  2. Fees (on application
  3. Education – completion certificates and/or official college transcripts
  4. Experience (Experience Log)
  5. Fingerprint and background check is required. A copy of the applicant’s criminal history and fingerprints are required for all licensees. (Fingerprint Vendors)

STEP 5: Examination Process Must pass the national examination approved by AQB and NV RED. Nevada national exam provider is PearsonVUE.

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Dowloads:

Ready to upgrade your license? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Qualifying education requirements by license level

Trainee (Registered Intern) Appraiser (75 hours) - AQB recommended course order

 

  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Laws for Nevada Appraisers - 3 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours

 

 

Certified Residential Appraiser (200 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Laws for Nevada Appraisers - 3 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling or Finance – 15 hours
  • Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours
Licensed Residential Appraiser (150 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Laws for Nevada Appraisers - 3 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest And Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
Certified General Appraiser (300 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Laws for Nevada Appraisers - 3 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 30 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours
  • General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Income Approach – 60 hours
  • General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 30 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives – 30 hours

*These pages were updated on November, 2020.  Please review the state board/commission page to determine if any changes have been made to the process since then.