How to Get an Appraiser License in the state of North Dakota License levels recognized in North Dakota Click HERE to view state requirements. Apprentice Appraiser Licensed Residential Appraiser Certified Residential Appraiser Certified General Appraiser Steps to becoming an appraiser in the state of North Dakota STEP 1: Find a supervisor/mentor to work with to log your experience hours. (Suggestions for finding a supervisor/mentor) To gain your required experience hours you must train under an appraiser that meets all the following requirements: Be certified as a general or residential appraiser for a minimum of 3 years.. Be in good standing for the 3 years immediately preceding their supervisor registration Have no more than 3 trainees with less than 1 year experience Have successfully completed a 4-hour Supervisory/Trainee course STEP 2: Successfully complete 75 hours of qualifying education courses approved by the Board. In addition, successfully complete the AQB approved Supervisory/Trainee Course. Successful completion requires passing the course final examinations for each course with a proctor. Proctoring requirement only applies to qualifying education and does not include the Supervisory course. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements) Basic Appraisal Principles - 30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures - 30-hours National USPAP Course or Equivalent - 15 hours Supervisor/Trainee Course - 4 hours STEP 3: Submit the Application and fee to ND REA which includes: Forms (Application Packet) Fees (Fees in application) Education - completion certificates and/or official college transcripts (Apprentice Education Tracking Form) Experience (Supervisory Appraiser Registration Form) (Supervisory Experience Verification Form) STEP 4: Fingerprint and background check is required by AQB. (Fingerprinting/Background Check Information) Additional Helpful Links and Resource Downloads: North Dakota Licensing Information Course Requirements by State How to Become an Appraiser eBook Appraisal Salary Guide How to Get Licensed Infographic Ready to get started? Click the button below to view class options and enroll. VIEW PACKAGES AND SUBSCRIPTION McKissock courses and online delivery method are approved by the North Dakota Real Estate Appraiser Qualifications & Ethics Board and International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC). McKissock is the exclusive provider of The Appraisal Foundation's national online USPAP course for the past 10 years. Next steps after getting or upgrading your North Dakota appraiser license Appraisal licenses expire every two years on 12/31, even numbered years. Renewal hardcopy forms are mailed out 11/1 of odd years. Renewal Process Education Requirements North Dakota appraisers required to obtain 28 hours of continuing education every two years, including the 7 hour National USPAP Update (or Equivalent) course. Licenses expire on 12/31 of even numbered years. Education is due by 12/31 of even numbered years. Renewing an Active License/Certificate Renewals may be done online or on paper. Click HERE for a paper renewal form. Read the instructions on the application and answer all questions. Applications will not be processed if they are incomplete or improerly completed and will be returned for corrections. The paper renewal must be typed or printed clearly, notarized and must be accompanied by the appropriate fees. Paper applications must be dated by December 31. If you miss the filing deadline you will be assessed a late fee of $100 for each month you are dlinquent. Permits may only be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration. Applications postmarked after April 1 will not be processed and will be returned to the applicant. Failure to renew by April 1 will require that you: Forfeit your current permit and File a new application for licensure with the Board You will also be subject to all requirements governing new applicants. Renewal Fees: Licensed and Certified levels: $350 + $0 National Registry fee Apprentice level: $350 Inactive Status: $100 Click HERE to renew online. Continuing Education Summary Form You should receive a copy of your "Continuing Education Summary Form with your renewal. It is your responsibility to: Keep record of your continuing education hours Update your Continiuing Education Summary Form with any additional education you have completed Attach copies of verification of course completion and Submit the complete Continuing Education Summary Form with your renewal application Verification of completion of continuing education hours is required. Verificaiton may be in the form of a certificate or formal letter from the education provider documenting your attendance. Your application will not be processed and will be considered incomplete and delinquent if your continuing education requirements are not current. Inactive Status If you wish to place your permit on Inactive Status, you must address a letter to the Board requesting your permit be placed on Inactive Status. Under current Rules, the appraiser on inactive status is not required to meet continuing education hours while on inactive status (Refer to 101-02-02-07). National Registry The National Registry is a database consisting of all State Licensed, State Certified Residential and State Certified General Appraisers. It is intended to serve as an historical reference to every credential an appraiser holds or has ever held (with the exception of a trainee credential). Active and Inactive credentials are listed. Only State certified or licensed appraisers who are listed on this National Registry as having current valid certifications or licenses are authorized under Federal law to perform appraisals in connection with federally related transactions. Individuals with a trainee level credential will not appear on the National Registry because the trainee level is not federally recognized and the trainee is not able to independently appraise property for federally related transactions. To be placed on the National Registry, you must be licensed or certified with a State. The information is provided to the Appraisal Subcommittee (ASC) directly from the State that issues the credential (permit). Most State appraiser regulatory agencies (ND inclusive) submit appraiser information to the ASC National Registry through an Extranet Application. This application allows each State to input information directly on to the National Registry. Data entered by States using the Extranet Application is in “real time” and will appear immediately on the National Registry. Need to take classes for renewal? Click the button below to view class options and enroll. VIEW MEMBERSHIP AND PACKAGES Steps to upgrade your appraiser license in the state of North Dakota STEP 1: Hold a valid appriasal license and successfully complete the additional required qualifying education courses (see course requirements below by license level). Successful completion of qualifying education courses requires passing the course final examination for each course with a proctor. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements) STEP 2: Complete and document all required experience hours for your upgrade level. Licensed Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 16months Certified Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,500 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 12 months. Certified General Appraiser - Provide 3,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 18 months of which a minimum of 1,500 hours must be non-residential real property appraisal experience STEP 3: Complete courses and maintain copies of transcripts for all college level requirements. Certified Residential Appraiser - (See table at top of page or view requirements HERE) Certified General Appraiser - You must have a Bachelor’s degree or higher. *Continuing education requirements and process for license upgrade displayed in above renewal section. STEP 4: Submit the Application package which includes: Forms (Application Packet) Fees (Fee on application) Education – completion certificates and/or official college transcripts (Licensed Education Tracking Form) (Certified Residential Education Tracking Form) (Certified General Education Tracking Form) Experience (Experience Log) Background information for criminal records check. (General Information) (Background Check Form) (Fingerprint Verification Form) STEP 5: Examination Process Must pass the national examination approved by AQB and ND REA. North Dakota national exam provider is AMP. (AMP - ND National Exam Provider Website) (ND National Exam Candidate Handbook) Additional Helpful Links and Resource Dowloads: AQB - National Exam Content Outline AMP - ND National Exam Provider Website ND National Exam Candidate Handbook AQB Licensing Exam Information Your Guide to an Appraisal License Upgrade eBook How to Upgrade Your License Infographic Ready to upgrade your license? Click the button below to view class options and enroll. VIEW PACKAGES AND SUBSCRIPTION Qualifying education requirements by license level Apprentice Appraiser (75 hours) - AQB recommended course order Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours Certified Residential Appraiser (200 hours) - AQB recommended course order Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 15 hours Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours Statistics, Modeling or Finance – 15 hours Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours Licensed Residential Appraiser (150 hours) - AQB recommended course order Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours Residential Market Analysis and Highest And Best Use – 15 hours Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours Certified General Appraiser (300 hours) - AQB recommended course order Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 30 hours Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 30 hours General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 30 hours General Appraiser Income Approach – 60 hours General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 30 hours Appraisal Subject Matter Electives – 30 hours *These pages were updated on December 1, 2020. Please review the state board/commission page to determine if any changes have been made to the process since then.