How to Get an Appraiser License in the state of Rhode Island License levels recognized in Rhode Island Click HERE to view state requirements. Trainee Appraiser State Licensed Appraiser Certified Residential Appraiser Certified General Appraiser Steps to becoming an appraiser in the state of Rhode Island STEP 1: Find a supervisor/mentor to work with to log your experience hours. (Suggestions for finding a supervisor/mentor) To gain your required experience hours you must train under an appraiser that meets all the following requirements: Be certified as a general or residential appraiser for a minimum of 3 years.. Be in good standing for the 3 years immediately preceding their supervisor registration Have no more than 3 trainees with less than 1 year experience Have successfully completed a 4-hour Supervisory/Trainee course STEP 2: Successfully complete 75 hours of qualifying education courses approved by the Board. In addition, successfully complete the AQB approved Supervisory/Trainee Course. Successful completion requires passing the course final examinations for each course with a proctor. Proctoring requirement only applies to qualifying education and does not include the Supervisory course. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements) Basic Appraisal Principles - 30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures - 30-hours National USPAP Course or Equivalent - 15 hours Supervisor/Trainee Course - 4 hours STEP 3: Submit the Application and fee to RI REAB which includes: Forms (Trainee Application) (Trainee Affidavit) Fees (Fees in application) Education - completion certificates and/or official college transcripts Experience (Experience Log) STEP 4: Fingerprint and background check is required by AQB. (Criminal History Records Submission Requirement) Additional Helpful Links and Resource Downloads: Rhode Island Licensing Information Course Requirements by State How to Become an Appraiser eBook Appraisal Salary Guide How to Get Licensed Infographic Ready to get started? Click the button below to view class options and enroll. VIEW PACKAGES AND SUBSCRIPTION McKissock courses and online delivery method are approved by the Rhode Island Real Estate Appraisal Board and International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC). McKissock is the exclusive provider of The Appraisal Foundation's national online USPAP course for the past 10 years. Next steps after getting or upgrading your Rhode Island appraiser license Appraisal licenses expire every two years on the anniversary of the initial licensure date. Renewal Process Education Requirements Rhode Island Appraisers are required to complete 28 continuing education hours every 24 months including the National USPAP Update Course. Every certificate or license issued pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20.7-1, et seq., shall be for a term of two (2) years from the date of issuance. The expiration date of the certificate or license shall appear on the certificate or license. No other notice of its expiration need be given to the holder thereof. Every person certified or licensed pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20.7-1, et seq., who desires to renew the certification or license shall apply for the renewal of the license or certification upon a form to be furnished by the Department, which shall contain whatever information the Department requires. Any renewal of a certification or license shall be subject to the same provisions and requirements covering issuance, suspension, and revocation of any certification or license as originally issued. Any person who otherwise satisfies the renewal requirements for a license or certification may renew a license or certification within one (1) year after its expiration date thereof for a reinstatement fee of thirty ($30) dollars, in addition to the required renewal fee. Any person seeking to reinstate a license after expiration must affirm by affidavit that he or she has not engaged in any unlicensed real estate appraisal activity since the expiration of the license. If a person has engaged in unlicensed real estate appraisal activity pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20.7-1, et seq., the person must file an affidavit with the Department listing all such unlicensed activity. The Department shall review the affidavit submitted and may either levy a sanction upon a determination that the license may be reinstated or decide not to reinstate the license. Renewal Fees Renewal License/Certification (per year): $200 or $400/cycle National Registry Fees (per year) $40 or $80/cycle Late Renewal: $30 in addition to renewal fees Renewing a License Click HERE for a renewal form. Complete entire application. If required information is not provided, the application will be considered incomplete and will not be processed. An application not processed for any reason may be returned to you. Along with the application, the following documentation is also required to be included: Continuing Education Certificates of Completion totaling twenty-eight (28) hours, seven (7) of those hours must consist of a National USPAP Update Course, or its Equivalent. Appraisers may not receive credit for completion of the same continuing education course offering within the appraisers’ twoyear renewal cycle. A Check or Money Order in the amount of $480 made payable to the RI General Treasurer. Add an additional $30 if your license has exceeded the expiration date, along with a completed License Reissuance Affidavit. Mail application, fee(s), and supporting documentation to: State of Rhode Island DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1 Cranston, Rhode Island 02920 Click HERE to renew your license online. Need to take classes for renewal? Click the button below to view class options and enroll. VIEW MEMBERSHIP AND PACKAGES Steps to upgrade your appraiser license in the state of Rhode Island STEP 1: Hold a valid appriasal license and successfully complete the additional required qualifying education courses (see course requirements below by license level). Successful completion of qualifying education courses requires passing the course final examination for each course with a proctor. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements) STEP 2: Complete and document all required experience hours for your upgrade level. Licensed Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 6 months Certified Residential Appraiser - Provide 2,500 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 24 months. Certified General Appraiser - Provide 3,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 18 months of which a minimum of 1,500 hours must be non-residential real property appraisal experience STEP 3: Complete courses and maintain copies of transcripts for all college level requirements. Certified Residential Appraiser - (See table at top of page or view requirements HERE) Certified General Appraiser - You must have a Bachelor’s degree or higher. *Continuing education requirements and process for license upgrade displayed in above renewal section. STEP 4: Submit the Application package which includes: Forms (Upgrade Instructions) (Online Application) Fees (Fee on application) Education – completion certificates and/or official college transcripts Experience (Experience Log) Background information for criminal records check. (Criminal History Records Submission Requirements) STEP 5: Examination Process Must pass the national examination approved by AQB and RI REAB. Rhode Island national exam provider is PearsonVUE. (PearsonVUE - RI National Exam Provider Website) (RI National Exam Candidate Handbook) Additional Helpful Links and Resource Dowloads: AQB - National Exam Content Outline PearsonVUE - RI National Exam Provider Website RI National Exam Candidate Handbook AQB Licensing Exam Information Your Guide to an Appraisal License Upgrade eBook How to Upgrade Your License Infographic Ready to upgrade your license? Click the button below to view class options and enroll. VIEW PACKAGES AND SUBSCRIPTION Qualifying education requirements by license level Trainee Appraiser (75 hours) - AQB recommended course order Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours Certified Residential Appraiser (200 hours) - AQB recommended course order Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 15 hours Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours Statistics, Modeling or Finance – 15 hours Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours State Licensed Appraiser (150 hours) - AQB recommended course order Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours Residential Market Analysis and Highest And Best Use – 15 hours Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours Certified General Appraiser (300 hours) - AQB recommended course order Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 30 hours Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 30 hours General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 30 hours General Appraiser Income Approach – 60 hours General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 30 hours Appraisal Subject Matter Electives – 30 hours *These pages were updated on December 1, 2020. Please review the state board/commission page to determine if any changes have been made to the process since then.