How to Get an Appraiser License in the state of Vermont License levels recognized in Vermont Click HERE to view state requirements. Trainee Appraiser Licensed Residential Appraiser Certified Residential Appraiser Certified General Appraiser Steps to becoming an appraiser in the state of Vermont STEP 1: Find a supervisor/mentor to work with to log your experience hours. (Suggestions for finding a supervisor/mentor) To gain your required experience hours you must train under an appraiser that meets all the following requirements: Be certified as a general or residential appraiser for a minimum of 3 years.. Be in good standing for the 3 years immediately preceding their supervisor registration Have no more than 3 trainees with less than 1 year experience Have successfully completed a 4-hour Supervisory/Trainee course STEP 2: Successfully complete 75 hours of qualifying education courses approved by the Board. In addition, successfully complete the AQB approved Supervisory/Trainee Course. Successful completion requires passing the course final examinations for each course with a proctor. Proctoring requirement only applies to qualifying education and does not include the Supervisory course. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements) Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30-hours National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours STEP 3: Submit the Application and fee to VT OPR which includes: Forms (Trainee Application Instructions) (Online Application) Fees (in online application) Education – completion certificates and/or official college transcripts Experience (Trainee Experience Log) (Verification of Employment/Supervision Form) STEP 4: Fingerprint and background check is required by AQB. (FBI National Record Check Release Form) Additional Helpful Links and Resource Downloads: Vermont Licensing Information Course Requirements by State How to Become an Appraiser eBook Appraisal Salary Guide How to Get Licensed Infographic Ready to get started? Click the button below to view class options and enroll. VIEW PACKAGES AND SUBSCRIPTION McKissock courses and online delivery method are approved by the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation and International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC). McKissock is the exclusive provider of The Appraisal Foundation‘s national online USPAP course for the past 10 years. Next steps after getting or upgrading your Vermont appraiser license All Vermont trainee licenses expire on 10/31 of each year. Continuing Education is due annually on 10/31 as well. All other appraiser licenses expire every two years on 5/31, even numbered years and require education to be submitted at that time. Renewal Process Education Requirements Vermont Trainees are required to take 14 continuing education hours every 12 months a mandatory 7-hour USPAP course is due every 2 years. Licenses expire on 10/31 every year. Education is due on 10/31/ every year. Vermont Appraisers are required to take 28 continuing education hours every 24 months including a mandatory 7-hour USPAP course. Licenses expire on 5/31 even years. Education is due on 5/31/ even years. Renewal Requirements A license issued under this chapter shall be renewed biennially upon payment of the required fee and upon satisfactory completion of the minimum continuing education requirements established by AQB during the immediately preceding two-year period. (excluding trainee) If an individual fails to renew in a timely manner, he or she may renew the license within 30 days of the renewal date by satisfying all requirements of AQB for reactivation and payment of an additional late renewal penalty. The Director may reactivate the license of an individual whose license has lapsed for more than 30 days upon payment of the renewal fee, the reactivation fee, and the late renewal penalty, provided the individual has satisfied all requirements of AQB for reactivation. The Director may require, by rule, as a condition of reactivation, that an applicant undergo review of one or more aspects of the applicant’s professional work in the practice of real estate appraising, provided that the manner and performance results of the review be specified by the Director. Such a review requirement shall: be adopted reasonably in advance of the time when it is first required to be met; and provide for compliance if the applicant shows that within the two years preceding renewal, the applicant underwent a satisfactory quality review for other purposes and that review was substantially equivalent to a review required under this section. Renewal Instructions Renewal notices will be emailed to you 6 weeks prior to your license expiration date. The online renewal will not be available until you receive this notice. Please make sure we have your current email address on file so you receive this information. You may log in to your online account ahead of time to ensure your information is up to date. Navigate to our Online Services. Enter your user ID and password. Once you are in your dashboard, click Renew License. Select the license you wish to renew and click Next. Continue through the renewal by answering all the questions on each page (scroll to the bottom to ensure all questions have been answered) and clicking Next. If your profession requires continuing education, you MUST attest to completing the CE requirement AND upload your course completion certificates in the renewal. The office will accept a PDF or a picture of the document if it is readable. Once you reach the payment screen and submit your payment information, please be sure to wait until you receive the confirmation page that your license has successfully been renewed! A receipt will be emailed to the email address on file. ** OPR no longer uses postal mail to send notices and renewal reminders. All licensees must provide a current, accurate email address. If you fail to provide an email address or to monitor the email address you provide, critical information about your license may not reach you. Need to take classes for renewal? Click the button below to view class options and enroll. VIEW MEMBERSHIP AND PACKAGES Steps to upgrade your appraiser license in the state of Vermont STEP 1: Hold a valid appriasal license and successfully complete the additional required qualifying education courses (see course requirements below by license level). Successful completion of qualifying education courses requires passing the course final examination for each course with a proctor. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements) STEP 2: Complete and document all required experience hours for your upgrade level. Licensed Residential Appraiser – Provide 1,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 6 months Certified Residential Appraiser – Provide 1,500 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 12 months. Certified General Appraiser – Provide 3,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 18 months of which a minimum of 1,500 hours must be non-residential real property appraisal experience STEP 3: Complete courses and maintain copies of transcripts for all college level requirements. Certified Residential Appraiser – (See table at top of page or view requirements HERE) Certified General Appraiser – You must have a Bachelor’s degree or higher. *Continuing education requirements and process for license upgrade displayed in above renewal section. STEP 4: Submit the Application package which includes: Forms (Certified Residential Appraiser Instructions) (Certified General Appraiser Instructions) (Online Application) Fees (Fee Information in Application) Education – completion certificates and/or official college transcripts (Qualifying Education Form) Experience (Experience Log) (Experience Narrative Summary Form) Background information for criminal records check. (FBI National Record Check Release Form) STEP 5: Examination Process Must pass the national examination approved by AQB and VT OPR. Vermont national exam provider is AMP. (AMP – VT National Exam Provider Website) (VT National Exam Candidate Handbook) Additional Helpful Links and Resource Dowloads: AQB – National Exam Content Outline AMP – VT National Exam Provider Website VT National Exam Candidate Handbook AQB Licensing Exam Information Your Guide to an Appraisal License Upgrade eBook How to Upgrade Your License Infographic Ready to upgrade your license? Click the button below to view class options and enroll. VIEW PACKAGES AND SUBSCRIPTION Qualifying education requirements by license level Trainee Appraiser (75 hours) – AQB recommended course order Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours Certified Residential Appraiser (200 hours) – AQB recommended course order Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 15 hours Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours Statistics, Modeling or Finance – 15 hours Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours Licensed Residential Appraiser (150 hours) – AQB recommended course order Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours Residential Market Analysis and Highest And Best Use – 15 hours Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours Certified General Appraiser (300 hours) – AQB recommended course order Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 30 hours Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 30 hours General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 30 hours General Appraiser Income Approach – 60 hours General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 30 hours Appraisal Subject Matter Electives – 30 hours *These pages were updated on December 1, 2020. Please review the state board/commission page to determine if any changes have been made to the process since then.