FAQs: Appraisal Qualifying Education

Find answers to your questions about McKissock.


I have an appraisal license and want to be licensed in another state. What are the requirements/steps to getting a reciprocal license?

Having an real estate appraisal license in your state makes it easy to get licensed in additional states. All states have reciprocity for real estate appraisers, with some caveats.

The Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act increased the minimum requirements for becoming a real estate appraiser. The increased educational and training requirements set standards that must be accepted by every state. It is up to the individual state to license appraisers, but the requirements for each state are generally the same.

Many appraisers would like to be able to work in multiple states. The most common reasons are that they live near a state line, are moving, or that they just want a larger service area. Rather than taking more coursework or retesting for each state an appraiser would like to work, states offer reciprocity.

Reciprocity means that a licensed appraiser can apply for the equivalent license in additional states. The process includes completing an application for reciprocity with the new state, and paying application and license fees. The application also typically includes a fingerprint requirement, background checks, and sometimes a letter of good standing or other documents.

The type of reciprocity allowed is similar for most states. However, there are some exceptions. Reciprocity by type of license is listed below:

  • Trainee Appraisers – No states allow reciprocity for trainee appraisers.
  • Licensed Residential Appraisers – Most states provide reciprocity for licensed residential appraisers to obtain an equivalent license. Illinois and North Carolina are examples of states that do not have reciprocity for licensed residential appraisers.
  • Certified Residential Appraisers – All states provide reciprocity for certified residential appraisers to obtain an equivalent license.
  • Certified General Appraisers – All states provide reciprocity for certified general appraisers to obtain an equivalent license.

Check your state appraisal board site for reciprocity rules and applications.

Can't find your answer?

If you can't find the answer to your question, please contact us. We are happy to help you.

Call Us icon

Call us: 800.328.2008

Speak to a customer service representative.

Weekdays: Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 8 p.m. (ET)

Weekends: Saturday - Sunday 12 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. (ET)

Get in touch icon

Send us a note

Email us and we'll get back to you within 24 hours

Email Us