How to Get an Appraiser License in the state of South Dakota

License levels recognized in South Dakota

Click HERE to view state requirements.

  1. State Registered Appraiser
  2. State Licensed Appraiser
  3. State Certified Residential Appraiser
  4. State Certified General Appraiser
South Dakota Appraiser License

Steps to becoming an appraiser in the state of South Dakota

STEP 1: Find a supervisor/mentor to work with to log your experience hours. (Suggestions for finding a supervisor/mentor) To gain your required experience hours you must train under an appraiser that meets all the following requirements:

  • Be certified as a general or residential appraiser for a minimum of 3 years..
  • Be in good standing for the 3 years immediately preceding their supervisor registration
  • Have no more than 3 trainees with less than 1 year experience
  • Have successfully completed a 4-hour Supervisory/Trainee course

 

STEP 2: Successfully complete 75 hours of qualifying education courses  approved by the Board.  In addition, successfully complete the AQB approved Supervisory/Trainee Course. Successful completion requires passing the course final examinations for each course with a proctor. Proctoring requirement only applies to qualifying education and does not include the Supervisory course. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

 

  1. Basic Appraisal Principles - 30 hours
  2. Basic Appraisal Procedures - 30-hours
  3. National USPAP Course or Equivalent - 15 hours
  4. Supervisor/Trainee Course - 4 hours

STEP 3: Submit the Application and fee to SD DLR which includes:

  1. Forms (Application) (Statement of Submission of Documents)
  2. Fees (Fee schedule)
  3. Education - completion certificates and/or official college transcripts
  4. Experience (Experience Log) (Supervisory Appraiser Endorsement) (Supervisory Application)

STEP 4: Trainees must pass the national examination administered by AMP and approved by the Board.

(AMP - SD National Exam Provider Website) (SD - National Exam Candidate Handbook)

STEP 5: Fingerprint and background check is required by AQB. New applicants must undergo a state and federal criminal background investigation and fingerprinting by the Division of Criminal Investigation and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.  Contact SDDLR at 605-773.4608 for information.

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Downloads:

Ready to get started? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

McKissock courses and online delivery method are approved by the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation and International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC).

McKissock is the exclusive provider of The Appraisal Foundation's national online USPAP course for the past 10 years.

South Dakota Appraiser License

Next steps after getting or upgrading your South Dakota appraiser license

All South Dakota appraiser credentials, including those on inactive status, expire on Sept. 30 of each year. Continuing Education is due every two years on 8/17, odd numbered years. Current 7-hour USPAP is due by June 30, even numbered years.

 

Renewal Process

Education Requirements

  • South Dakota Appraisers are required to complete 28 continuing education hours every 24 months.
  • Seven of the 28 hours must be completion of the 7-Hour National USPAP Update or Equivalent course.
  • A minimum of seven of the 28 hours of instruction must be completed prior to June 30 of each even-numbered year in the most current edition 7-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) Update Course or Equivalent whose instructor is certified by the Appraiser Qualifications Board.
  • A penalty fee of $100 will be charged if the 7-hour USPAP Course is not completed by the deadline.
  • An appraiser is only required to complete fourteen hours of instruction in approved courses or seminars if the appraiser's certificate is issued on or after October 1 of the previous even-numbered year and prior to 185 days before September 30 of the current odd-numbered year.
  • However, this subdivision applies to first-time applicants only and not to applicants who have been issued an upgrade of a license or certificate.
  • An appraiser with an inactive license is not required to complete the continuing education credits.
Renewal Requirements
  • All South Dakota appraiser credentials, including those on inactive status, expire on Sept. 30 of each year.
  • Renewal packets are mailed out the first week in July and must be thoroughly completed, notarized and returned to our office along with the applicable renewal fee no later than Aug. 17 of the current year.
  • Late renewals (after Oct. 1) must pay a late penalty fee of $25 for each month or fraction of a month that has passed since Oct. 1.
  • Each odd numbered year, verification of completed continuing education must also be submitted with the renewal application and fee.
  • Inactive status appraisers must complete the same renewal requirements as active status appraisers except there is no continuing education required.  Be sure to check the box for inactive status on the application and follow the guidance provided in the administrative rules.
  • Reciprocal appraisers must also complete the same renewal requirements as South Dakota appraisers except their continuing education requirement may be exempted.

Renewal Fees (paid annually)

  • State-Registered - $175 (application fee)
  • State-Licensed - $325 (application fee) + $40 (National Registry fee) = $365
  • State-Certified Residential - $335 (application fee) + $40 (National Registry fee) = $375
  • State-Certified General - $350 (application fee) + $40 (National Registry fee) = $390
  • Late Renewal fees: $25/month or portion of a month from October 1 through March 31.
  • Late USPAP Education fee: $100

Renewal Process

Please note: Renewal applications will not be accepted after March 31 of the following year. (For example, for a certificate that expires on Sept. 30, renewal applications will only be accepted up to March 31, the following year for that renewal period.

How to Submit an Application for Renewal
  • Renewal Application for State Certified, Licensed or Registered Appraiser (Valid July through March 31) - Complete online.
  • Read the questions on the renewal application carefully. The application and payment must be completed online. The online system will not allow you to submit your application until the form is complete.
  • Submit application by Aug. 16:
    • Completed Online Renewal Application
    • Appropriate fees
    • Continuing education documentation (Required in odd numbered years. See continuing education.)
Late Appraiser Certification Renewals
  • If your appraiser certificate expired on Sept. 30, 2020, and you have not renewed, you have until March 31, 2021, in order to renew your certificate.
  • There is a $25 late penalty fee for each month or fraction of a month that has passed since Oct. 1, 2020. (See Administrative Rule of South Dakota (ARSD) 20:14:10:04.)

Need to take classes for renewal? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Steps to upgrade your appraiser license in the state of South-Dakota

STEP 1: Hold a valid appriasal license and successfully complete the additional required qualifying education courses (see course requirements below by license level). Successful completion of qualifying education courses requires passing the course final examination for each course with a proctor. (Course Online Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

STEP 2: Complete and document all required experience hours for your upgrade level.

  • Licensed Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 6 months
  • Certified Residential Appraiser - Provide 1,500 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 12 months.
  • Certified General Appraiser - Provide 3,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 18 months of which a minimum of 1,500 hours must be non-residential real property appraisal experience

STEP 3: Complete courses and maintain copies of transcripts for all college level requirements.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser - (See table at top of page or view requirements HERE)
  • Certified General Appraiser - You must have a Bachelor’s degree or higher.

*Continuing education requirements and process for license upgrade displayed in above renewal section.

STEP 4: Submit the Application package which includes:

  1. Forms (Application) (Application for Submission of Documents)
  2. Fees (Fee schedule)
  3. Education – completion certificates and/or official college transcripts 
  4. Experience (Experience Log
  5. Background information for criminal records check. New applicants must undergo a state and federal criminal background investigation and fingerprinting by the Division of Criminal Investigation and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.  Contact SDDLR at 605-773.4608 for information.

STEP 5: Examination Process Must pass the national examination approved by AQB and SD DLR. South Dakota national exam provider is AMP.

 

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Dowloads:

Ready to upgrade your license? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Qualifying education requirements by license level

State Registered Appraiser (75 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours

 

 

State Certified Residential Appraiser (200 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling or Finance – 15 hours
  • Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours
State Licensed Appraiser (150 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest And Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
State Certified General Appraiser (300 hours) - AQB recommended course order
  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 30 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours
  • General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Income Approach – 60 hours
  • General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 30 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives – 30 hours

*These pages were updated on December 1, 2020.  Please review the state board/commission page to determine if any changes have been made to the process since then.