Home » FAQs » What are the steps to getting an appraisal license?


What are the steps to getting an appraisal license?

In order to become a licensed appraiser, most states require you to become an appraisal trainee and obtain a number of hours of experience before you can appraise on your own. Many states have different titles for trainees, such as apprentice appraiser or registered appraiser. Here is a step-by-step guide on how to become an appraiser.

How to become an appraiser

Step 1: Start with Your Pre-Licensing Courses

To become an appraiser, most states require you to first become an appraiser trainee, sometimes referred to as apprentice appraisers or registered appraisers.

To become a trainee, you must complete and pass 75 hours* of basic appraisal qualifying education (3 courses) – TAKE IN THIS ORDER:

1) Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours)
2) Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours)
3) National USPAP Course (15 hours)

No experience is required to start your qualifying education. In most states you can take your courses online and learn at your own pace. You can purchase these courses at McKissock.com.

*Note that in CaliforniaColoradoFloridaGeorgiaKansasKentucky,  and Wisconsin, you are required to take more than 75 hours of qualifying education courses for your initial license.

Step 2: Apply for Your Trainee License

Once you have completed your coursework you can apply for your trainee license. You will need to find a certified appraiser to gain supervised training experience before applying for your license.

1) Submit your application and fees to the state board
2) Submit your fingerprints and background check information
3) Receive your license from your state’s board

Steps and license levels vary from state to state. Be sure to check your state’s specific licensing requirements to know exactly what you need to do in your state.  You can also view detailed information on How to Get an Appraiser License for your state by clicking on your state in the table below:

Alabama Idaho Minnesota North Dakota Utah
Arizona Illinois Mississippi Ohio Vermont
Arkansas Indiana Missouri Oklahoma Virgin Islands
California Iowa Montana Oregon Virginia
Colorado Kansas Nebraska Pennsylvania Washington
Connecticut Kentucky Nevada Rhode Island Washington DC
Delaware Louisiana New Jersey South Carolina West Virginia
Florida Maryland New Mexico South Dakota Wisconsin
Georgia Maine New York Tennessee Wyoming
Hawaii Michigan North Carolina Texas

Real property appraiser qualification criteria

how to become an appraiser

Be sure to check your state’s specific licensing requirements to know exactly what you need to do in your state.

Step 3: Gain Work Experience

Learn the business and grow your understanding of the appraisal process from a certified appraisal supervisor. Once you have completed your coursework and applied for your license you can begin your training with your supervisory appraiser.

The certified appraiser supervisor and the trainee must document any completed work, which will be submitted and reviewed by the state regulatory board when the trainee applies for another license. The number of required experience hours can vary by state.

It is important that you check your state specific licensing requirements to know how many hours of experience you will need.

Can’t find your answer?

If you can’t find the answer to your question, please contact us. We are happy to help you.

Phone icon

Give Us A Call


Monday – Friday 8 a.m. – 8 p.m. (ET)


Saturday – Sunday 12 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. (ET)



Real Estate


Envelope icon

Send us a Note

Email us and a customer service representative will get back to you within 24 hours.